We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located Pleasant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stonegate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well located Pleasant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay near Minnewaska State Park but away from the college scene of New Paltz and we found it at Stonegate Inn.
This is a handsome Victorian structure among age old trees and pleasant landscaping, tuck away in a quiet hamlet but still close to everything.
When we stay at family run inns sometimes we dread the decor or enduring the narcissistic owners who insist on us recognizing their decorating talent. Not the case here, this inn happens to be boldly but tastefully decorated and the owners have a quiet confidence about it. The large public areas on the ground floor are nice and spacious and so are the rooms.
The generous and beautiful breakfast setting surprised us.
The other patrons who we happened to meet at the breakfast table were repeat guests and they all shared our enthusiasm for the place.
Thank you Jane and Neal. We are looking forward to staying at your place again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have an alcove with a cot or futon so your snoring partner can camp there:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perennialtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although our stay was one night we would not hesitate to return in the future. Our hosts, Neil and Jane made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Fireside Suite which was well kept and spacious. Breakfast was yummy. Loved having coffee ready for early risers like ourselves.
All in all a very pleasant experience provided by a couple who love doing what they do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We needed to spend a night in the New Paltz area as we had a special office celebration to attend at the Monhonk Mountain House. I researched the MMH, but the "special" price for our one room was astronomical, just a waste of hard earned money. So I looked around on Tripadvisor and found this lovely B & B a few miles away. So glad we chose Stonegate. It is beautifully decorated and well kept. Our room had charming wallpaper--sprigs of violets! They are my Mom's favorite flower, and so of course I had to photograph them to send her a picture!

Loved our room--it even had a separate sitting room--was very nice and spacious and I wished we were staying longer. Lovely bathroom--modern and clean with plenty of room. Lots of TLC in this home. And breakfast was great! There were hot cooked items as well as cereals or pastries or fruit--whatever we wished. Neil and Jane were excellent hosts and gave us tips about visiting the area.

I should say that before our fancy dinner at the MMH, we went out to explore the walking bridge over the Hudson. Wow, what a thrill! It was a gorgeous spring day--perfect to hike the bridge and admire the mighty Hudson and surrounding mountains.

Would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtTraveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent one night at Stonegate Bed & Breakfast. The room was immaculate, the sheets nice and crisp, the room was so nicely decorated and when the sun rose this morning, OMG was it just beautiful! Jane and Neil were so friendly and gave us a few tips on how to be take advantage of the region. We will be back. Just not even 90 minutes from NYC, just 7 minutes from New Paltz (great restaurant). OH and LET US NOT FORGET, Breakfast! Jane you are an awesome chef in your own right. Stonegate is a great getaway without being far from civilization. We will be back!

Sylvie & Mike

Room Tip: Just be ready to enjoy Jane's breakfast and Neil guiding tips - THANKS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stonegate Bed and Breakfast has beautiful architecture, a calming setting, and a unique, eclectic feel. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to the aroma of a yummy home cooked breakfast and enter the dining room that always had an appealing table set. We also enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the evening.

The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. In the end it exceeded my expectations:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Stonegate Inn was a wonderful experience. Neil and Jane were great hosts. The breakfast was to die for! Love the front porch for unwinding with a glass of wine. Very close to New Paltz and the local wineries. Price was reasonble. A can't miss stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mringie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Stonegate Bed and Breakfast was pleasant in so many ways, and provided an enchanting location for our stay. The innkeepers Neil and Jane Thomas were gracious and inviting. The enormous front porch, and beautiful property, lent themselves to being the perfect gathering spot for our group. The absolutely delicious breakfast prepared us for our daily adventure, and we looked forward to a relaxing unwind upon our return. I was pleasantly surprised that the common area offered lots of little gathering places inside so you could read or relax in your own little place. Definitely a home away from home!!

Room Tip: The beds were wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
11.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $110 to $160 per night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing