We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonegate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quaint & comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Stonegate Inn was a wonderful experience. Neil and Jane were great hosts. The breakfast was to die for! Love the front porch for unwinding with a glass of wine. Very close to New Paltz and the local wineries. Price was reasonble. A can't miss stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Stonegate Bed and Breakfast was pleasant in so many ways, and provided an enchanting location for our stay. The innkeepers Neil and Jane Thomas were gracious and inviting. The enormous front porch, and beautiful property, lent themselves to being the perfect gathering spot for our group. The absolutely delicious breakfast prepared us for our daily adventure, and we looked forward to a relaxing unwind upon our return. I was pleasantly surprised that the common area offered lots of little gathering places inside so you could read or relax in your own little place. Definitely a home away from home!!

Room Tip: The beds were wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Absolutely top notch. Scrupulously clean everywhere. Hosts (Neal & Jane) are friendly and helpful, rooms are beautiful and breakfast is delicious. Jane's home baking is superb. We stayed in the Fireside room which has a working gas fireplace that you can light with the click of a button. Recently updated bathroom, great shower. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muenchen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were having a fantastic stay for 2 nights at Stonegate. Neil and Jane were the perfect hosts, always happy and helpful in giving advice/ tips what to do and see in Hudson Valley. Our room was nicely decorated and very tidy, the breakfast was excellent, very diverse and freshly baked every morning.Free wifi included. We definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights on our way north in the Fireside Suite. The room was a great value compared to other B&B's in the area. The room was extra large with ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and linens were nice. The hosts are friendly and personable. breakfast was done with love and attention. We were treated to vegetarian and non-veggie egg omelets, home made breads and muffins, as well as fresh berries.The coffee was great. If you want to stay mid-Hudson Valley, this place is extremely well located across the river from Poughkeepsie and close to the FDR Presiential home and library as well as just about every other attraction plus about 40 minutes north of West Point.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but we did the Fireside Suite and appreciated the extra room but the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A lovely old house, made very comfortable by the owners, who are welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfasts. Very convenient location for all sorts of attractions. And there's a wonderful wraparound porch for just sitting and reading or watching the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stonegate is a 120-year old home. Not a mansion, not a mini-mansion, but instead a lovely large home in a neighborhood transformed into a B&B. Our hosts were friendly, thoughtful and very accommodating. Common rooms included the dining room, a living room and a wrap-around porch. Furnished with antique furniture, knickknacks, etc., the common spaces and bedrooms were quite nice.

Breakfast ... very special. Fresh fruit, OJ, very good coffee, blueberry muffins, homemade donuts, pancakes, sausage, 2 different fritatas. That was just the first morning. Wow.

Overall, I'd describe our stay as very, very comfortable, not luxurious. For the cost of the two nights, Stonegate is a great value.

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a double bed, private bath (shower) and a sitting room. The sitting room was too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.