We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relax and unwind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Stonegate Bed and Breakfast was pleasant in so many ways, and provided an enchanting location for our stay. The innkeepers Neil and Jane Thomas were gracious and inviting. The enormous front porch, and beautiful property, lent themselves to being the perfect gathering spot for our group. The absolutely delicious breakfast prepared us for our daily adventure, and we looked forward to a relaxing unwind upon our return. I was pleasantly surprised that the common area offered lots of little gathering places inside so you could read or relax in your own little place. Definitely a home away from home!!

Room Tip: The beds were wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Absolutely top notch. Scrupulously clean everywhere. Hosts (Neal & Jane) are friendly and helpful, rooms are beautiful and breakfast is delicious. Jane's home baking is superb. We stayed in the Fireside room which has a working gas fireplace that you can light with the click of a button. Recently updated bathroom, great shower. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muenchen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were having a fantastic stay for 2 nights at Stonegate. Neil and Jane were the perfect hosts, always happy and helpful in giving advice/ tips what to do and see in Hudson Valley. Our room was nicely decorated and very tidy, the breakfast was excellent, very diverse and freshly baked every morning.Free wifi included. We definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights on our way north in the Fireside Suite. The room was a great value compared to other B&B's in the area. The room was extra large with ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and linens were nice. The hosts are friendly and personable. breakfast was done with love and attention. We were treated to vegetarian and non-veggie egg omelets, home made breads and muffins, as well as fresh berries.The coffee was great. If you want to stay mid-Hudson Valley, this place is extremely well located across the river from Poughkeepsie and close to the FDR Presiential home and library as well as just about every other attraction plus about 40 minutes north of West Point.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but we did the Fireside Suite and appreciated the extra room but the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A lovely old house, made very comfortable by the owners, who are welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfasts. Very convenient location for all sorts of attractions. And there's a wonderful wraparound porch for just sitting and reading or watching the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stonegate is a 120-year old home. Not a mansion, not a mini-mansion, but instead a lovely large home in a neighborhood transformed into a B&B. Our hosts were friendly, thoughtful and very accommodating. Common rooms included the dining room, a living room and a wrap-around porch. Furnished with antique furniture, knickknacks, etc., the common spaces and bedrooms were quite nice.

Breakfast ... very special. Fresh fruit, OJ, very good coffee, blueberry muffins, homemade donuts, pancakes, sausage, 2 different fritatas. That was just the first morning. Wow.

Overall, I'd describe our stay as very, very comfortable, not luxurious. For the cost of the two nights, Stonegate is a great value.

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a double bed, private bath (shower) and a sitting room. The sitting room was too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for two days in this delightful old home on a gorgeous property. The period decor was beautiful. We stayed in the "Blue Suite" which was two rooms plus bathroom.....a very large bedroom plus sitting room. Breakfast was wonderful and more than ample to keep you going for many hours. The different quiches were delicious and there was fruit, cereals, muffins and a nice assortment of other items to select from.
The accommodating hosts Jane and Neil Thomas (who have been in the area for 50 years) gave us great dinner recommendations for restaurants in both Highland and Poughkeepsie. Excellent value.

We used this as a base for our trip to the wonderful Rhinebeck Aerodrome (been there 4 times)
...everybody I take there loves this nostalgic look back into the past, complete with period costume and music...not to forget the glorious days of "Those Magnificent Men In Their Flying Machines" ..........Some of these planes were actually used in the 1965 film)
Love the shows and great atmosphere every weekend in the summer. See separate review.

Room Tip: The Blue Suite was excellent although you may not need the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stonegate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list