We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stonegate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Claremore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“clean room's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

the room we stayed in had a nice mcro and a iceboox the only thing it didn't have was a coffee pot but we could just walk down to the office to get some coffee .. i love the room so much ..and don't want to leave but we have to go to hot spring's ark to see my mother inlaw or we would stay the whole week in we had to go back to oklahoma we will come back again some day soon this place is awesome and so is the people that own it

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We looked at the last minute for a place to stay for one night while passing through this area of NY State. We found Stonegate online, and they were able to accommodate us at the wonderful price of $95 in the Southside room. For that price, we were expecting a very tiny room. But we were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the room and the comfort of the bed. Plus it had free and fast Wi-Fi. The bathroom wasn't enormous but it was more than enough for what we needed. The downstairs common area is very cute and furnished with Victorian pieces.

The owners, Neil and Jane, were absolutely wonderful and provided great advice about area restaurants. The included breakfast in the morning was amazing. From casseroles (kindly made to fit in with a food restriction) to french toast to freshly baked muffins and more, we loved it.

The Stonegate is an easy, five-mile drive from Route 87 and is an short drive to New Paltz and other cute towns. The price can't be beat (especially with breakfast included and Wi-Fi!), and the comfort of this inn makes it a great and relaxing stop.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway at the Stonegate. This was the first time in five years that we have been away just the two of us (sans kids!), and the Stonegate was a WONDERFUL experience. It's tucked just off the man road, in a beautiful restored victorian home. We were greeted by Neil and Jane, and quickly shown to our beautiful room, The Fireside Suite. It was decorated with great taste, and the bed was awesome! We enjoyed the large shower and great hot water and pressure. We also appreciated the free wi-fi right in the room...great to plan our day out with locations, directions, etc. The breakfasts were incredible, and every morning we had OJ, water, coffee, along with at least 6 different items to eat, including quiches, casseroles, coffee cakes, muffins, and fresh fruit. I even teased my husband that he better not get too used to this, since he doesn't get food that good at home! haha.... Neil and Jane were kind, and great to chat with. The helped us with directions, and based on their suggestion, had one of the best German meals we ever had at a local restaurant. The entire house was super clean, updated, and we really appreciated the nice quiet AC in our room. We would definately recommend this BnB to anyone, and have even talked about going back with friends next year to enjoy the area and house again. Thanks, Neil and Jane, for a fun, relaxing, great place to stay while we enjoyed our weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends and thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend. We've had some bad B&B experiences, but Stonegate is wonderful. The rooms (we had Southside, and our friends had Fireside) were extremely clean and had small but perfectly functional private baths. There are in-room air conditioners controlled by remote and small TVs with DVD players for unwinding at night. We enjoyed touring the wineries and relaxing with a bottle in the evenings. The B&B puts out glasses and a corkscrew in the hallway--very cute. Breakfasts were wonderful, very filling and with delicious breads and scones. The hosts were pleasant but respected our space. I'm sure they would have been happy to chat, but as we were with friends, we kept more to ourselves. This isn't luxury accommodation, but it's hands down the best value in the Hudson. We couldn't believe how much cheaper it was than other options in the area, and we still can't figure out why. It was lovely, and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We found this b&b 2 years ago and loved it back then. Came back this July for our anniversary and it was still wonderful. A great added addition was air conditioning in every room that was very easy to use and also very quiet. Neil and Jane as before were wonderful hosts and we loved Jane's blueberry buckle coffee cake for breakfast. We have been to many bed and breakfasts throughout the years and this is one of the best we have stayed at. As soon as you walk in you feel at home. Too add to all this the price is very reasonable for this area. We will definitely be back again to check out Rhinebeck and the Culinary Institute restaurants. Thanks, Neil and Jane for yet another perfect stay at your B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is a beautiful Victorian house with an EXCELLENT location for seeing the Hudson Valley. My mom and I stayed in the Fireside Suite, with beds for both of us. The breakfasts were varied and fabulous. Neil and Jane are very personable and delightful hosts. And the value of the room rates can't be matched. You will have a memorable trip!

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our bridal party during our wedding weekend in 2008 and it was a wonderful experience. The hosts are lovely and everything was clean and comfortable. We went back this year for our anniversary and enjoyed it just as much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.