We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing, comfy home-away-from-home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Windsor Hills Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a relaxing, comfy home-away-from-home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Call Tim Woods at Highland Manor to book a lovely respite in the Hudson Valley. From the time you drive up the winding path to view his B&B on a hill, you will be struck with the meticulous landscape surrounding the property. Many man-made stone benches, & swings in both the gazebo & trees by the lake, entice you to be outdoors & enjoy nature as it should be. On the front porch enjoy the activity at the hummingbird feeders; the trick is to photograph one (or more) birds in flight or perched and feeding.
And then there are the rooms. What got us (3 couples) to choose HM were the pictures of the rooms shown on the website. Comfy & pretty, with colorful accents.
Tim is the consummate host from breakfast to home-brewed beer, with many steps in between.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for a runaway weekend and loved Highland Manor. Enjoyed the Mahogany Room and both breakfasts were first class all the way. Tim is a great host: knows how to have the right amount of conversation with overdoing it, but is warm and friendly at the right times. We would come back there again in the future. A lovely place ... we can't believe he did all that landscaping himself! Truly unexpected beauty!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

couldn't have picked a better B&B in New Paltz... Great host and great food....Room was beautiful.. New Palitz is a favorite of ours --- went down to Lake Tackgonic and went kayaking with friends and ate dinner at Mountain Brauhaus.... Can't wait to come back again-- during the Fall Foliage....

Thank you Tim ---- another fabulous stay!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I would recommend this B&B to all. It is quiet, beautiful, and in a great location. Tim was welcoming as we're his dogs! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the peace and even played pool downstairs! We were just relaxed. Food was superb too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I traveled to NY to attend our best friend's wedding. We looked at several area hotels but decided instead to step up our trip a notch and check out area bed and breakfasts. We chose Highland Manor because of the great reviews and its central location to all our wedding activities.

We were more than impressed with Tim's kindness and hospitality. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and the perfect respite from our hectic wedding activities. The room was beautifully decorated, and the jacuzzi was a great added bonus. Breakfast was a special treat each morning, with Tim's carefully crafted and delicious tasting food. The coffee was the perfect strength to get us up and moving. Breakfast was served on the porch each morning with lovely views of the property and a quiet visit from the dogs at our feet.

When we visit the area again, we plan to visit Highland Manor! We love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been vacationing in the New Paltz area for years and have just discovered Highland Manor. This is a lovely B&B. Tim, the owner and host, is friendly, gracious and attentive. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the home has a warm and welcoming spirit. My room was clean, spacious and private. Special requests were accommodated and lively stories made for an enjoyable stay. Well done!

Room Tip: My room was lovely. I expect that all the rooms are of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the inn in early march. Our daughter has lived in NY city for many years and we were thinking of moving closer to her family. We had a great few days with Tim at the Manor and fell in love with Highland. Tim was a terrific host and his wonderful breakfast gets you off to a great start. He also brews some great beer. His two dogs are almost invisible. Even if you are not a dog person you may not even know they were around. The house is located in a beautiful setting and has a very large porch to enjoy in the nice weather. We sold our house in 2 days and are relocating to Highland in early May. Tim was a big influence for our move. When our friends come to visit if they don't stay with us the Manor will be their home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Windsor Hills Road, Highland, NY 12528
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.