We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Out on this Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Windsor Hills Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss Out on this Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time at the beautiful and relaxing Highland Manor. The house is lovely and there are many little touches and attention to detail that put this B&B at the top of our list. 

We highly recommend the Tuscan room, which has a huge jacuzzi bath & gas fireplace. The grounds are also lovely and we have whiled away an hour or two sitting in the swing in the gazebo or on a bench near the garden. 

Tim is very knowledgeable about the area and did everything he could to make us feel at home, as did his two sweet dogs. 

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

What a great place to stay. At the last minute we had to change our location and someone referred us to Highland Manor. Tim (the owner) was very warm and friendly; love that he did not change his prices just because we were desperate. (He maintains the same rates year round) The house was amazing, the drive up to the property lets you take in the beauty of the house and landscaping. We stayed in room 5 which was very large with plenty of room for moving around with not feeling like you were crowded into someone's bedroom. The bathroom was huge as well with more than enough room.
We arrived very late and Tim had our room ready with lights on as well as the space heater going in the bathroom to take away the chill from the bathroom floor. The next morning we were treated to an incredible breakfast of blueberry muffins, egg souffle, rosemary potatoes & sausage links, I love a big breakfast to start the day and Tim is an excellent cook.
We loved Tim's dogs that greeted us as we arrived which was a nice treat since we were missing our 2 big dogs at home. My only complaint is we didn't have the time available to really enjoy all that this B & B has to offer; walking the grounds to explore all the different sitting areas or just to be able to relax on the front porch and enjoy the peacefulness and beauty of the location.
If we are ever back in NY I will definitely make arrangements to stay at the Highland Manor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

As a bed and breakfast, perfect on both counts! We stayed 2 nights in the Tuscany room, late February. The location was perfect for relaxation, peace and quiet. The host, Tim, provides a wonderful breakfast. Tim loves what he does, and it showed through out our stay. An excellent host. His passion for beer brewing is also an additional special treat; have to try a sample taste of his work while you are there.
Tim's two dogs will steal your heart, too!
Can't wait to go back in the spring or summer, and enjoy the outdoor BBQ.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

When I need a place to sleep on vacation, I go to a hotel. When I want to stay somewhere that becomes a key part of the vacation, that's when I look for a bed and breakfast - and Highland Manor is the perfect place for that. We found our romantic getaway, but it surpassed our expectations because of all the little things. Tim is extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and gave us perfect recommendations every time. The Tuscany Room is gorgeous and was obviously lovingly designed, with a gas fireplace next to the jacuzzi, but also clearly visible from the bed (which makes for a romantic sight from anywhere in the room). The breakfasts are simply extraordinary, and accompanied by sweet, mellow music perfectly suited to a midwinter breakfast upstate. The grounds are beautifully kept, and it's worth coming back in warmer weather just to sit on the porch, the gazebo, or any of the stone benches. Then there are the two sweetest, friendliest dogs one could ask for - who do their part to make you feel at home. And that's not even mentioning the brewing equipment in the basement, or a number of other lovely touches. I could go on, but the bottom line is that if you're looking to stay somewhere where you'll actually WANT to spend time there aside from sleeping, Highland Manor is the perfect place to go. Needless to say, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The Tuscany Room isn't the biggest, but it is beautifully done and extremely cozy - the perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Having never been to a B&B before, I would recommend staying at Highland Manor to anyone. With each night we (my fiance and i) retreated to the comfort and coziness of a spacious fire-lit room with a four-post pillow-top bed. The access to the area is perfect for those seeking anything from outdoors to antiquing. We took Tim's recommendations for dinner each night, and to be honest couldn't have been more wholly satisfied than we were stuffed. Each morning has the touch of a catered breakfast. After our first day we were compelled each night to check the board for the following days breakfast. The two dogs were the first to greet us, and consequently showed us to the front door (Quite the lassiesque moment). No less the next morning we were accompanied on a walk with them. An experience for anyone needing a break, your likely to find some R&R here.

Room Tip: Having stayed in the Garden Room, it was refreshing to wake up to sunrise each morning. The property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUffalo, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this B & B, for a weekend celebration for my girlfriend's birthday. It was both our first times ever staying at a bed an breakfast, and I think we'll make it more of regular occurance as there is something to be said of having a "home away from home" while on vacation. During our stay, we stayed in the Tuscany room, which was exactly as advertised...romantic, clean, comfortable and the fireplace and bath were amazing! tim set up the room exactly as planned for my girlfriend with a dozen roses for the "romantic getaway package". We were treated to two superbly cooked breakfasts, that catered to my girlfriend's and my likes and dislikes for breakfasts. Tim does have only times anywhere from 9 to 10 for breakfast, but it is only a small rule to take....as having breakfast at that time anyway allows you to start your day and it is the perfect time to sleep in a little to start the day! When you arrive you plan a tentative breakfast for the two days...and then Tim adds special touches to the preparation of the meal!
Tim provided great recommendations for wineries....places for dinner. Last but not least, the grounds were amazing...I only wished I traveled during warmer months to enjoy them....but We had fun with Tim's two well behaved Dogs, who are amazing with guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I frequent this Bed and Breakfast with good reason: it is like being home. The grounds are serene. The rooms are spacious and warm. The innkeeper is friendly and very attentive. The consistency of our stays is what keeps us returning. There is plenty to do throughout the area. This is our getaway place for anniversary and autumn trips. Don't forget to say hello to Saki and Ebbie while you are there!

Room Tip: At least 2 rooms have jacuzzi tubs and policy as I recall is that they go off around 9pm so there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Windsor Hills Road, Highland, NY 12528
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.