We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Motor Lodge

Atlas Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Atlas Motor Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   125 Tillson Avenue Extension, Highland, NY 12528-1828   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
New York
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was happy to find an alternative to the other places I have stayed in for many years in the area.
There are a lot of pluses. Startng with the management: THEY CARE. this is a huge thing these days. The price was fair for the period.. many in this area overcharge.. The price on the super 8 in the middle of New Paltz on sat night is psychotic..

As others have stated, the place is somewhat dated, but simultaneously upgraded. I was in room 22.. I suspect they are all diff but share the same standard..which is : Clean.. good lighting. when do you get that ? ...BIG refrig, very unusual.. good microwave and nice tv with cable. Good wireless... and outlets all over the place and various light switches to make things convenient.. This is thoughtful. Bed was ok too...I found ventilation system antiquated and somewhat noisy but this is a common problem, and it worked very well. What I didn't like? not much.. room had linoleum and while it is not a homey feeling, it is prob more hygienic. My room , I felt ..had too much road noise.. but it might not bother you.

My room was large... and had an eating area and a balcony. ( don't get excited a/c vent on to it and it faces highway) NEvertheless I love a place where I can get air if I want it instead of just feeling locked in.. Bathroom had a shower stall with good water pressure..and a window that opens.Also the towels were above average for this type of place
Overall, my biggest complaint is that they don't have enough rooms and I cant book there again for my next trip as they are already sold out 8 months from now !!!

I was going to post photos but the ones the Motel have put on are representative.. only they don't show you the great refrig /tv

Room Tip: sept stink bugs in area.. make sure to COMPLETELY Close screen door ( My room had balcony) or window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at Atlas Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer and the overall quality of our rooms. We know you are a return visitor, and we want you to know that we will always strive to make sure you are comfortable and well taken care of. Thanks so much for the opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stopped here on our way back from Vermont to North Carolina. Friday night and few places had a vacancy and those that did were pricey. I apprehensively booked this room and hoped for the best. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the well kept grounds and clean room. The decor is slightly dated, but in a nice way. At he same price point, this place is much better than the Super 8. I'd even stay here on purpose if I were planning to be in the area. It is true what one reviewer said about smoking and ashtrays, but overall I thought the Atlas was sweet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at Atlas Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

the overall feeling was of dirty and very close to the road. the rooms were non-smoking rooms but the owner and few others were smoking outside the building just close to our door. Also outside the door was an ashtray full of cigarettes which did not help the overall feeling.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building may be more noisy then the inner building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at Atlas Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with your accommodations. We make a strict effort to keep guests from smoking in non smoking rooms, but unfortunately in some cases there is a bad apple to spoil the bunch. Since your stay, we have instituted the use of new smoke odor removal sprays, plus we have instituted a significant cleaning charge billed to anyone that smokes in our non smoking rooms. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have that opportunity again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Mom & Pop motel. Scrambled to prepare a larger room so we could comfortably store our tandem bicycle in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at Atlas Motor Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have that opportunity again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We pulled into this hotel on our way home after escaping hurricane floodwaters, and we were very glad we did. The room was so clean it smelled April-fresh. The staff person at the registration desk was friendly, concerned about our circumstances, and eager to please—she even let me see the room before I checked in. Big screen TV, king bed, free WiFi with no password required, and both corridor and exterior access made this hotel pleasant and convenient for us. I would definitely stay here if we are ever in this area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Motor Lodge

Address: 125 Tillson Avenue Extension, Highland, NY 12528-1828
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlas Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atlas Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.