We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service but pet hair all over the carpet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3497 Route 9W (corner Grand Street), Highland, NY 12528 (Formerly Mick's Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Highland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Friendly service but pet hair all over the carpet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's pretty much what you would expect, with a few pros and cons. Pros: there's a lovely breakfast/bagel place attached to the office and you get a free (or discounted, depending on what you order) bagel/breakfast and coffee there.Cons: it's "pet friendly" which, for us, meant that there was dog hair all over the carpet in our room, which triggered allergic reactions. They could have done a better job cleaning the carpet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cutchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The inn keeper was very friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable. However, the room, which was supposedly "newly renovated," left a lot to be desired. By newly renovated, there was some recent laminate flooring and the bathroom was updated. The bed was clean and comfortable, but the furniture was beat up and the walls needed paint. The room smelled musty, and the window was open when we checked in, apparently an effort to air it out.

Overall, it wasn't a horrible experience, but I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for your thoughtful review. I am happy that you appreciated our friendly service and comfortable beds, but I am sorry that you were less than 100% satisfied. We are in the process of upgrading the furniture, and I hope we can have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I was hopeful by the looks of the newly remodeled exterior and room, but boy was I wrong!!! I awoke at about 3:45am to use the bathroom and to my disgust there were bugs crawling all over the floor. And when I say bugs Im not talking a couple, it was more like 40-50 crawling around!! The room also felt very damp. I informed the manager and he offered me nothing but a different room. I Booked through Expedia so I guess that's what I get...Beware!!! Never again!!!
Unless you enjoy having bugs crawling all over your $80 room

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am so sorry that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations we offered. Being situated near the "woods", we try very aggressively to keep bugs from coming into our rooms, but it appears in your room we needed to try harder. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have that opportunity again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Due to reading tripadvisor we were not disappointed . No it is not renovated . Just spruced up . Low priced spruce up at that . The bathrooms are recently done and large as is the room . A/C works well and rooms are clean . Safe quiet area . Breakfast is bagel and cream cheese with coffee . Coffee and bagels are fresh and various choices . We used them as snacks for hiking and purchased breakfast which was very , very good . Very nice atmosphere in the cafe . Cafe staff and motel owners are friendly . The rooms are NOT as pictures as stated by a previous person . Wall paper was cut , pictures not straight with a pencil mark still visible underneath . I can go on and on . Motels can take a beating but you need to stay on it . The cost of box finish nail's and a tube of caulk are not going to run you out of business . Gas station across the street , strip mall near by and lots of good eats in the Hamlet of Highland . Antique stores and Walkway over the Hudson just 1-2 mins drive . We would stay again due the convenient spot . We visited Woodstock , Highland , Walkway Over The Hudson and Hyde Park . So good spot in very quiet area right off the Mid Hudson bridge So it was a good stay just not what the motel is claiming . My wife had a problem sleeping comfortably although i slept loke a baby .

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor room . Others on first floor have complained of noise We were on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar, and I am sorry that you had a few issues with the room. I have now relocated myself and my family to an apartment on the premises, and I will be doing a room-by-room maintenance check to see what is needed immediately, and to plan for more long-term improvements. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope you will visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to race BMX at the Kingston Point BMX track about 30 minutes away.

Based on other reviews and other stays I had had elsewhere, requested a 2nd floor room. Stayed in room 210, which was fine. Double queen beds. Upon first impression, did like the room. It did have sort of an old place musty type smell, but was not that bothersome. Just seemed like it was an older place. The wood floors looked nice. And the bathroom was renovated. Had a round shower sliding door. Nice sink with cabinet and mirror. And the room was very spacious.

On the details though, there were a couple of annoying things. The sink faucet spigot is way too close to the bowl to be effective. You are basically rubbing your hands and toothbrush on the side of the sink to use the water. Also, the cabinet space was worthless. Need more counter space for sure as there was very little. Also, if you see that guests are using the towels/wash cloths to put their stuff on (like cups they brought from home), I felt they should have given extra towels/wash cloths for us to still use. Yeah, I could have asked for more, but just didn't want to bother. Just give extra.

Re noise level. Seemed like there was highway on 2 sides of the hotel. So a bit noisy w/ the AC off re traffic. It was a catch 22. Leave the AC off to have a quieter room for sleeping, but get traffic noise, or leave the AC on to block out the traffic, but then still have noise for sleeping from the AC. So sleep quality was only so so.

I believe if you go south on 9W (to the right out of the hotel), you'll come across a very good diner and further down the road is a main grocery store. To the left out of the hotel, I think North on 9W are 2 very good restaurants: Frank's Steakhouse and Global Palate. Global is a bit more unique and has more variety. Both are a little pricey, although the diner was pricy and not as good, but I would definitely eat at either again. I highly recommend them. The little store next to Franks is good too.

DO NOT eat at the College Diner that is open 24 hours in New Paltz off 299. Service was terrible. Took so long for the waitress to come by that we almost left to drive the 16 miles to Denny's, but were so tired, stayed. She never came around after getting the food either. Just a total waste and will never go back. The diner down the street from the hotel on the other hand is very nice and had very good service. That one is fine, just not open 24 hours.

The bagels and bites associated w/ the hotel is ok. Would have preferred to have cereal, milk, juice, fruit, and muffins included. Even though the bagel was included, which apparently in the future it won't be, 1 bagel with some cream cheese doesn't really cut it for breakfast. Especially when the room is so pricey. Didn't even bother with the bagel for 2 out of 3 mornings.

Beds were fine, location was good, they allow pets which is a huge plus. Peter the check-in person was very friendly. Room was spacious with plenty of lighting. Closet area for hanging clothes was good. So decent stay and decent place.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 210 on the 2nd level with 2 queen beds. Was in the middle of the walk way/building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar. We recently instituted our offering of "continental breakfast" at our on-premises bagel cafe; although the bagel with topping and coffee that is included with your stay is more than the standard "continental" fare offered by most hotels, we realize that everyone's tastes differ, so the owner of the cafe is pleased to offer our guests a discount on any item that is on their menu in lieu of the bagel and coffee....I am sorry you were not made aware of that. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are more problems to this hotel than being overpriced. Wow - this place was gross! Bugs everywhere - outlets that weren't screwed into the wall properly. The bed linens just felt dirty. The room was just disgusting. This should have been priced more around $20 for the night....I would never stay here again!

Oh - and the neon sign says "rennovated rooms" ...someone needs to get a dictionary.

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your accommodation. The "newly renovated" on our sign refers to upgrading we did on all rooms in 2010 and 2011 which included wood veneer flooring in all but one room, and all bathrooms have been fully renovated with new fixtures, ceramic tile flooring, modern showers, etc. Unfortunately, our location being in front of a large amount of undeveloped "woods", there are sometimes issues with bugs getting into the rooms; we do our best to remedy this, but when the doors open they welcome themselves in. We will have to be more aggressive in this regard in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very nice and accommodating couple runs this place, but our room was not "recently renovated." The floors are not carpeted and we were woken up early every day by the people in the room above us walking around. We had to leave the air conditioner fan on high for "white noise." Otherwise, a good value for the area.

Room Tip: Request one on the 2nd floor with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar, and I am sorry that you had a few issues with the room. All but one room at Americas Best Value Inn Highland Poughkeepsie had wood veneer flooring installed in lieu of carpeting during our recent renovation, and all bathrooms have been fully renovated with new fixtures, ceramic tile flooring, modern showers, etc. I understand your issue with the noise from above, but we had cleanliness and your health in mind when installing these floors because carpeting tends to keep germs and bacteria in them and under them. Some of our rooms have throw rugs in the most walked areas (near the beds) and we plan on installing more of them. Thanks again, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 3497 Route 9W (corner Grand Street), Highland, NY 12528 (Formerly Mick's Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, conveniently located halfway between Albany, New York and New York City. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, desk with lamp, and free local calls. Children age 10 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie provides comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help you feel at home. Our hotel is close to the Walkway Over the Hudson, Bardavon 1869 Opera House, and Rocking Horse Ranch. Other area attractions include the FDR Presidential Library and Museum, Eleanor Roosevelt Historic Site, and Mohonk Mountain House. There are plenty of nearby hiking, bicycling, and shopping locations. Restaurants within a mile of our hotel include Casa Mia Restaurant, Would Restaurant, and Gateway Diner. At Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.