We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appetizers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner's on the Hudson

Mariner's on the Hudson
46 River Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1221
845-691-4711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Highland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Appetizers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am a local. View spectacular (I love the Hudson River)!! Didn't have dinner. Just appies and wine. The calamari was very good ( tender) and nice sauces for dipping. The scallop appetizer was awesome!! Cooked to perfection. Kudos to the chef. Will get me back there! And just for fun look for the huge carp begging for a scrap of bread, if they can get past the geese. Also, they have widened the deck since their mishap with Irene last year. Nice touch. They could, however, take the time to wipe the railing after " little fingers" have been feeding the fish. But those scallops will get me back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    14
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Lavaca, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great View and Free Dock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent the night here...on their free dock. If you eat at the restaurant you can stay free, not a bad deal. The beer was cold and the food we had very good. The docks are a little rickety, but even our friends on their 56' boat had no problems. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location,dissapointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

For years the locals have wished Mariner's on the Hudson would return to being good. But it never gets any better. Just high prices, poor food and a really nice deck. The food is bad enough that everyone at my table was complaining. The price was pretty high too. Same old story, but with the Walkway above I guess there will always be a fresh supply of rookies to fill the tables no matter how bad it is. Get some great takeout someplace and sit for free at the park next door.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location ONLY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great location and wild life. Below average, over-priced average food. A 1 pound lobster cost $35 dollars, without appetizers or desserts, plus the lobster was bland. The risoto was awful and service slow. Go for the view--a beer and sandwich are the best bets. Won't be rushing back. Best to see the river via the Walkway.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Eating on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My partner is fascinated with eating outside by the water. The food was okay. Nothing to rave about. It was really the location that was nice. I would go back again for a drink and an appetizer just to sit by the water

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariner's on the Hudson also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner's on the Hudson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.