We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
913 State Route 213, High Falls, NY 12440   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call us direct and save!!
Ranked #3 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
Lebanon Township
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 7th wedding anniversary getaway. The "Captain's Quarters" is marvelous. We truely felt like we were at home. Judy's and Bill's suggestions for food and activities were spot on! Restaraunt suggetions were fantastic (Egg's Nest- no cr cards; Inn at Stone Ridge for dinner). We enjoyed the grounds, stream, the chickens (they make great eggs-lol!) and of course Beau!!! Mohonk Mtn House is 6 miles away. We hiked, ate lunch and had spa treatments there. One of our best B&B experiences ever! So sad we to had to leave and get back to life/reality! But no worries- we will be back someday!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our stay at Captain Schoonmaker’s will be a lasting memory for its romantic and relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings with exceptional hosts, Judy and Bill Klock. Our room in the carriage house offered privacy and a balcony overlooking a postcard view of a woodland scene, complete with waterfalls, and blossoming flowers and trees of their garden. The antique furniture and harmonious attractive interior decoration of the bedrooms and inn reflected the historic theme of the property – providing a warm inviting unique atmosphere.

Judy surprised us with changing lovely table settings and full delicious hot breakfasts each day. Both Bill and Judy were helpful with suggestions, directions, and knowledge so that we could better take advantage of nature hikes (Minnewaska State Park trails) and local restaurants. We are especially grateful for their thoughtful accommodation of our special requests, their sincere friendliness, and unexpected treats of freshly baked cookies in the evening. Independent from the great comments we heard from returning guests throughout our stay, we had already decided for certain that we would be returning to enjoy Judy and Bill’s hospitality again at Captain Schoonmaker’s.

V & C, Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

This was our third stay at Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast. We love the beautiful creekside setting, the fact that is a historic site, the quaint rooms all made up so differently and most of all the hosts, Judy and Bill and the incredible mornings being served such delicious breakfast(s) in a beautiful setting, enjoying the warmth from the huge fireplace, and lively conversation with other guests and the hosts. The rooms are meant for quiet guests who enjoy the surrounding beauty. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast and if possible, we will return again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We had a very nice 2 night midweek stay in the Captains Quarter's. The place is quaint and relaxing. It also has a lot of old character. The room we stayed in at the main house is as described in previous reviews; a large room with a fireplace and the in room sink; the bathroom is small with a whirlpool bath and shower combo; but we did not find it to be a problem at all. The room decor was nicely done. The complaint about the road noise could bother some people but again we did not find it to be a problem you have to ignore some things , the good outwieghed the bad with this room and the whole B&B. The breakfast was very good and the hosts were accomondating. A good location to get to all points in the area. We would stay again. Thanks again Judy and Bill.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We have stayed at Captain Schoonmaker's B&B a couple of times in recent years, and really enjoyed the whole experience. So when our nephew's wedding was announced in the New Paltz area, we naturally decided to stay at Captain Schoonmaker's. Once again we were totally pleased with our stay. The Captain's Quarters was so warm and cozy, and Judy & Bill's breakfasts were truly amazing! We're already planning another trip to the Hudson Valley for antique shopping, and we'll definitely be staying at this charming B&B!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

As a former B&B owner, I can only say that these owners really understand what running a B&B is all about. They are welcoming, very accommodating, and generous. The food was abundant and delicious. The rooms are charming and spacious, The shower was great! There are several inviting rooms for relaxing. The setting is magical with the waterfall and creek, chickens (who provide the eggs) in the near distance , and a big, sweet golden retriever. I don't know how they get the rooster to crow at such a reasonable hour (after 8:00)! Each time I had a thought like" It'd be nice to have...", I'd look nearby and it was already thought of. (A tea kettle and cups , a cookie, extra towels, hair dryer). I know it isn't easy to make all this look and feel effortless, but Judy and Bill do. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fromobile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I've searched for the perfect B&B experience, and I think I may have found it. I LOVE the feel of this place, and the owners make you feel like family. Best thin French Toast... she told me her secret for keeping thin, krispy, yet Creamy in the middle. The Captain's Quarters are so great; not kitchy, but real old world feel. Love the floors, and the turn of the century glass in the windows. I can't imagine having anything to complain about. A ++!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 913 State Route 213, High Falls, NY 12440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.