We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to remember that it is a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hicksville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Hicksville to your Saves list
Days Inn Hicksville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   828 S Oyster Bay Rd/I-495, I-495 Oyster Bay Rd Exit 43, Hicksville, NY 11801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hicksville
Toronto
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“You have to remember that it is a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We had a ground floor room. The room we got was LARGE. It had two double beds - but it had room for at least six. It was the first time I had read a hotel information book where there was a listing of how much any damage would cost - item by item.
The furniture was simple and the beds comfortable. The only problem was that there was nothing to hold on to when getting in and out of the bath. This was dangerous because the bottom of the tub was worn and thus very slippy when wet.
On our first night there the car park flooded. We had to paddle through about 4 inches of water to get to our car. This I do not blame on the motel - there had been several inches of rain and all car parks and roads in the area had flooding. The management made sure the water was gone later in the day.
The cleaning of the rooms was exceptional. Some crumbs on the floor were gone after the maid had been through. There was some noise from the room above, but it was generally quiet. Just what I would expect in a motel.
Overall, for the price, we got what we paid for. For less than $90 a night we got 5 nights of reasonable comfort. If I had been paying the prices charged by higher class hotels I would have expected more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    73
    33
    27
See reviews for
82
34
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

People were very friendly and nice. It is a typical motel, for what that is worth. Small room, hard bed, but clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay on Long Island, then Day Inn Hicksville is perfect for you. While the outside appearance and lobby are a little outdated, the rooms are extremely clean, which is what is important to me. I traveled here for a relatives wedding and it was the least expensive place in the surrounding area at about 90+tax per night. The area was also safe, which I was happy about since I had my children with me. I would recommend this if you are looking for a nice, but no frills stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriston, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Normally I would give this two stars, however it's on long Island and if you've ever been to Long Island you know that hotels are outrageous. For $80/night I got a older room that was clean and some cereal and bagels for breakfast.

Acceptable, but normally would not be worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel is indeed very old and shows it. They obviously jacked the rates up for the US Open and it was not a good deal for the quality (or lack thereof) of the property. We returned to the city and saved over $40/night for a very nice property near Times Square. Rooms were clean but the funishings were outdated. While some of the front desk staff were kind and accommodating, they did not seem to really be enjoying their jobs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, and affordable room in the Hicksville/Freeport area of Long Island look no further than Days Inn Hicksville. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs as well. I saved a lot of money over the other hotels in the area and had just as pleasant of a stay. If you are after a 5-star hotel with room service and porters than this is not for you but if you just want a nice clean and comfortable room to stay in, that won't break the bank, this IS the place for you. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. Actually, next year when I make this trip again I will stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — Fair price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Ok.. I have stayed here and anyone who knows the area, knows that there is limited choice around. Let me start by saying this place is pretty good for what it is. It is exactly an old 1950s travelodge/motel with a restaurant/bar and office up front. The rooms have been renovated, the place is clean, bathrooms just fine. They have a pool in the center outside in the summer. I paid about 75 dollars to stay here.. and it was a good deal. Days in has free continental breakfasts also.

I would stay here again, instead of the HoJos down the street which was just the pits.

Again, clean, renovated, basic accomodations with a bar/restaurant, so if you know what to expect then it is perfectly acceptable.

  • Liked — Clean, and renovated with drinks.. This is a neat old throwback.
  • Disliked — Look..Im spoiled..I prefer the Crowne Plaza..
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Hicksville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hicksville

Address: 828 S Oyster Bay Rd/I-495, I-495 Oyster Bay Rd Exit 43, Hicksville, NY 11801
Location: United States > New York > Hicksville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hicksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hicksville 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Hicksville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hicksville Hotel Hicksville
Hicksville Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hicksville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.