We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great, after all this time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ahuva's Grill

Ahuva's Grill
1326 Pennisula Blvd, Hewlett, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Hewlett
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still great, after all this time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have eaten at Ahuva's many times. Nothing but good food, good service and a lot of Hebrew being spoken. You get the feeling there is a taste of Israel at this place..lots of Israelis eating and talking and making for a great atmosphere. Not to forget everyone else that comes here to enjoy amazing falafel, salads, soups..it is all good. The people that own and work at this place are really nice, helpful and accommodating.I recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of Israel, great food and lively atmostphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Do I have something on my forehead?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

With high expectations due to the great reviews, my husband and I decided to give this place a try.

From the moment we walked in, waitresses walked by without even a glance to tell us where to sit or never gave any indication of our existence in the room. I had to stop one of them in their tracks in order to get their attention. The waitress indicated where we could sit and we did so without any issues. Once seated, we waited approximately 8 minutes for any type of attention since we had no menu or place settings. The only attention we got was from another waitress telling us to get up and move to a smaller table due to a larger party. That was understandable, so we moved. Once we sat back down to smaller table, we waited an additional 15 minutes for their menu. Once we received the menus, my husband and I made our selections and again the clock started until we finally decided to get up and leave. Just when we were about to get up, a waitress finally arrived apologizing and asked if we needed drinks. I told her we needed more than drinks since we were already prepared to order.

We placed our order and our semi-cold soda cans were served along with glasses containing no ice. I called the waitress over after looking around and noticing everyone else in the room had ice in their cups and asked for some. She seemed annoyed as if I was asking for some insane request and came back with a face.

The appetizers we ordered were good (that's why the 2 stars) but the main dish was salty and less than mediocre.

Overall experience was poor and almost seemed as if we were treated differently than the other patrons. Waitresses were laughing and joking with the other patrons and we, on the other hand, got the silent treatment. Many of the patrons there were also staring at us, so maybe it's not a place for someone of a different ethnic background.

I am am open to experiencing other cuisines and cultures but this place is definitely non-welcoming!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Authentic great food and family service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

If you like Israeli/middle eastern food. This is the place. Loved the service. Very personal and family owned and operated.
Reasonable prices.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ever since Superstorm Sandy, we have periodically eaten at and taken out from Ahuva's Grill. This place is the real deal for Israeli food. Everything is very good and because of Ahuva's Yemenite background, there are dishes here that you really can't get many other places. This is just like eating in Israel. It's crowded at peak times, but we have never had anything that was not good from felafel to soups to main dishes. We even ordered food for our Superbowl viewing party!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Finally, a restaurant that will stick around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ahuva's is a kosher restaurant with the best falafel you can find anywhere around. They will serve it just like you find it in Israel, with french fries stuffed inside, delicious falafel balls, great condiments for the perfect experience. Their other food is also great. A local spot in a local shopping center and it is always busy and the food is always fresh. It is a great place to have in the neighborhood and everyone can enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahuva's Grill also viewed

Hewlett, Long Island
Hewlett, Long Island
 
Hewlett, Long Island
 

Been to Ahuva's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahuva's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.