We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would avoid it....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Ridge Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Herkimer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Ridge Motel
Save
You added Glen Ridge Motel to your Saves list
5571 St. Route 5, Herkimer, NY 13350   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I would avoid it....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I was unable to force myself to stay a night there, in fact I was
there for 15 minutes.
Everything was depressing to me: the hole in the upholstery, TV set from the 50th, the non-working coffee making device (true antique - combines a shelf and hot plate), non-working window treatment on the small window, the only a source of light in the room, the size of the room itself.
I understand that there are newer rooms on the side of the
hotel, but I was told that they were occupied. Well, I trust people.
Bathroom was clean, room had a little stale smell.
Herkimer Motel would be a better choice, but it will cost twice more. If you are used to less than a minimum comfort and don't suffer claustrophobia, you may be able to enjoy this accommodation.
(I have some photos, if you are interested).

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room and grounds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
5
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We booked this motel based on recent recommendation from Tripadviser.com. The motel is the closest accomendation to the Herkimer and Ace of Diamond Mines. You are about 5 miles from the mines and close to many restaurants and fast food joint. The rooms are older but clean. For $39.95 you more than average rooms. We have one of the two effiency room with nice, clean updated bath/shower, kitchenette with small portable stove, refrigarator, double queen beds, TV and storage. The owners are nice and they let you check-in and put your stuff in the room before heading out to the mines.

The Herkimer and Ace of Diamond Mines are just like the Show on Travel Channel. It is great for family fun!

  • Liked — Location to the Herkimer Mines and price
  • Disliked — Older funitures
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stayed in the motel over spring break. It was very fun and very well maintained. Under the new ownership, so many things are being attended to. In a bit, it will really become more than just a motel... they're working so hard, the new owners that is. The people were very friendly and made you feel at home. It's especially very nice because of the location, view and convenience. It's on a quiet highway and overlooks the moutains on the far end. It also has a children's playground at the back. The rooms have a great color theme and the kitchenette is very cute. I have worked for a very expensive hotel on my campus before and that motel was no less! You should definitely give it a try! It's near k-mart, hannaford, walmart, dollar tree and you can easily catch a bus to or from Union Station in Utica. I miss that place.

  • Liked — Friendly, homey, great service and location
  • Disliked — It was still snowing lol.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Glen Ridge is a very clean & cosy motel. Friendly staffs giving very efficient service. Peaceful atmosphere and comfortable beds. I am going to stay there again.

  • Liked — Friendly staffs
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

This motel is the worst motel I've ever stayed at!! The room was dirty, and it was infested with bugs! The bathroom was so dirty, mildewed, and smelled so terrible that I couldnt even use it! No matter how desperate I am for a room when I travel to Herkimer, I will never stay at this motel ever again!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!!!
  • Disliked — how dirty the room was, the fact that it was filled with bugs, and how dirty the bathroom and shower were
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenridgemotel, New Owner at Glen Ridge Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2008
Dear snowprincessny,
Salutations. We would like to inform you that Glen Ridge Motel is now under new ownership and management. It is our priority to render a high level of service to our guests.
Even though your review of the motel is based on your experiences under the previous management we would like to make an apology for your inconvenience earlier. You are most welcome to visit us again to enjoy our new service. As a gesture of goodwill, we would like to offer you a free stay for one night at Glen Ridge Motel. This offer will be valid from 01 May 2008 to 31 Dec 2008. Please call in advance so that we can book your free stay.
Thank you for you cooperation in that matter.

Sincerely,
Glen Ridge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

great little quite place , clean room , very beautiful location near walmart ,kmart , lowes .
good customer service .loved it good prices.

  • Liked — cleanliness , price , location ,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

The Glen Ridge Motel in Herkimer, NY was a NIGHTMARE!!!! The room was FILTHY!!!! It was filled with bugs! The room STUNK! The shower was DISGUSTING!!!!! It was again for lack of a better word FILTHY!!!!! It was just covered with mildew. I was afraid to shower, because of how dirty it was. The bathroom floor was so dirty, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in YEARS! The only reason I did stay the night was that I was told by the owner that she had my credit card number and would charge me anyway. I should have just taken the loss and found a different motel!!!!!! I had stayed there 10 years ago, when an older couple owned the motel, it now has different owners who are out to turn a buck, yet not do anything to take care of the place at all!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenridgemotel, New Owner at Glen Ridge Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2008
Dear Busym0m,

Salutations. We would like to inform you that Glen Ridge Motel is now under new ownership and management. It is our priority to render a high level of service to our guests.
Even though your review of the motel is based on your experiences under the previous management we would like to make an apology for your inconvenience earlier. You are most welcome to visit us again to enjoy our new service. As a gesture of goodwill, we would like to offer you a free stay for one night at Glen Ridge Motel. This offer will be valid from 01 May 2008 to 31 Dec 2008. Please call in advance so that we can book your free stay.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely,
Glen Ridge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Ridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ridge Motel

Address: 5571 St. Route 5, Herkimer, NY 13350
Location: United States > New York > Herkimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Herkimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Glen Ridge Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Ridge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.