We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, fair prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Otto's Empire Diner

Crazy Otto's Empire Diner
100 West Albany St., Herkimer, NY 13550
315 866 8801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Herkimer
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Brunswick, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great food, great service, fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm not from the Herkimer area but stopped by for a medical appointment. Being a fan of old diners, we decided to give Crazy Otto's a shot. What a great lunch! The menu is innovative and the food prepared excellently. I give it five out of five.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun old style American Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Apparently home of the worlds largest Omelette. The diner owner is a bit gruff but that gives the place its charm. The girls working the tables are well presented and very courteous. Great atmosphere surrounded by old licence plates and photos of various stars who have dropped by. This place is a gem in Herkimer and is worth the stop for a small refreshment or stay longer and have their omelettes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just heading home from Trucks Gone Wild noted the diner as we came into town and planned to stop before hitting the interstate. Soooo glad we did! I'm stuffed! The best florentine eggs benidictic ! Fresh spinach and perfect hash browns. My husband had ham and French toast. But they throw in eggs too! Coffee was just right. Everything fresh. The wait staff were so nice. Also nice to each other and and kitchen crew. Nice to see 8 men working like an experienced team in the kitchen. We sat at the counter and could see and hear everything. Otto should be Very proud to have such a select group of people representing his business. Don't listen to the 1star crabbys. They must never be pleased. Ya get what you pay for. Glad to pay the $2-3 for the best !!! You go Otto! See ya next truck show!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
“awesome food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Not very busy and we were seated immediately. The selection on the menu is huge with lots of variety.

The atmosphere is usual diner, with lots of license plates from different states hanging up and autographed pictures from singers, actors and actresses.

Our waitress came over to help us make our selection only to find out she was the owner of this family owned restaurant. Kim and Scott are the very nice owners of this establishment. She made us feel welcomed. Was very friendly.

My boyfriend got the special of the day.....prime rib with eggs, toast and hashbrowns. He loved every bite saying the prime rib was delicious and tender. I had a toasted hoagie roll with chopped ham, bacon and sausage. Topped with fried eggs, cheese and hashbrowns with mayo on the roll. Also served with a side of hashbrowns.

I highly recommend this place for a good hearty breakfast with great family service!! We totaly enjoyed ourselves.

We had been here also once for burgers and they were also delicious....but I think breakfast just totally blew me away!! Thank you Kim and Scott!! We will definitely be back soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My sisters and I were in Herkimer for a visit(it's a halfway point for each). We found this gem and had to stop in. The atmosphere is great, waitresses friendly and fun. We each ordered different menu items and enjoyed our meals. We will be eating there next time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Otto's Empire Diner also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Otto's Empire Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Otto's Empire Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.