We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting atmosphere, so-so bbq” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sticky Lips BBQ

Sticky Lips BBQ
830 Jefferson Rd, Henrietta, NY 14623
585-292-5544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Henrietta
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere, so-so bbq”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first visit to the Henrietta location and I don't think we'll go back. The Culver Rd. original location is so much better. We went to celebrate a birthday and were pretty disappointed.

My daughter's pulled pork sandwich was cold; my potatoes and ribs were warm but tasted like yesterday's food put through the microwave. The waitress was OK, but certainly not social. She takes your order, one of the male staff delivers it -- it's all very mechanical.

There was a card on our table that said something along the lines of we were sitting in the stage area and if we were there when the band started, we might be asked to pay a cover charge--that was tacky. When we left, the entryway was so crowded that we couldn't get out. We had to wait a minute or so until it clear, then budge our way through the crowd. They could use someone there for crowd control.

If you want good bbq, go to their Culver restaurant or try the Dinosaur.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    52
    39
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
amaylin@rochester.rr.com
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the better BBQ's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There aren't too many BBQ's in Rochester but this one is second to Dinosaur BBQ which is downtown Rochester. It has the usual ribs and pork but also a great chicken. The other good thing is that they have a sauce for every taste. The only down is the price is not cheap but probably not any more than any other good BBQ place. This Sticky Lips is in a new building on Jefferson Rd. Decor is western bar decor. Good for the whole family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun time + good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised! The decor is fun, its a high energy place - lots of food choices - great BBQ menu, lots of beers on tap. The place is HUGE! we got there by 5 and didnt wait but only 5 min - just enough time to get a drink. We all like what we ordered (BBQ ribs and chicken) sides were good too! It is very LOUD though, and conversation was difficult - we were seated at a comfy booth in the bar section.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Hennrietta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We'd been to their first restaurant in Rochester a couple of times,and enjoyed the food and decor, and now that they've opened this new spot closer to RIT, we thought we'd give it a try. This place has the best ribs, and pulled pork, you'll probably find anywhere, in my opinion. The staff was friendly, and the atmosphere almost as good as their original restaurant. Prices are reasonable, and if you don't want to be stuffed, you can easily share a meal between 2 people, the servings are so large. We will be back, next time we're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“BBQ and Beer in suburbia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our son apologized for not taking us to Sticky Lips in the past 5 years of visits to Henrietta/Rochester. Liked it for the food and also that it is a non-chain (well, only two locations hardly counts as a chain) in a region of chain food! Three happy customers. Good beer list - including some ciders. Loud, crowded, food comes fast. Lots of different types of BBQ meats to choose from and about 10 different sides. Prices very reasonable, we thought.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sticky Lips BBQ also viewed

Henrietta, Finger Lakes
 
Henrietta, Finger Lakes
Henrietta, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sticky Lips BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sticky Lips BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.