We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the discounted rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RIT Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added RIT Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
RIT Inn & Conference Center
5257 West Henrietta Road, Henrietta, NY 14467   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Henrietta
New Lowell, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for the discounted rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here while my friend had a doctors appointment in Rochester. The hotel was donated to the Rochester Institute of Technology by the Mariott corp. When it was under the Mariott, it was in great shape, and nothing has been done since then to maintain it. The rooms were comfortable, but a little out of date. The fridge in our room was one of those Kool a tron ones with no compressor so it never got cold. We had them change the fridge 3 times before they understood we were looking for one with a compressor.

The beds were VERY comfortable. I have never slept more soundly in a hotel then I did on this trip!

The pool was in good shape and was well maintained, the hot tub apparently hasn't been working for months as they are waiting for a part? Dissapointed about that.

Enjoyed their in site restaurant with our coupons for food as well.

Overall, paying just about $5o a night for a room was well worth it considering the amenities we had and the dated look of the hotel. I wouldn't pay more then $80 a night here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
25
7
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

As part a group that stayed at this hotel via an organized bus trip, this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. First, I'll start with my room that faced the highway. The bed was comfortable enough, but the A/C wasn't working the first night and the fan kept running withoug stopping even on the auto setting. Since we got to our room at 11 o'clock at night, it was too late to do anything about it, but we reported it to the front desk in the morning before leaving for a full day of seminars. On our return at 9 o'clock at night, we could tell the A/C had been repaired and cooled the room; however, the noisy fan kept on running without stopping even on the auto setting. That resulted in a 2nd sleepless night. The bathroom needs to be revamped. Fan didn't remove humidity from bathroom fast enough. Obviously refinished bathtub was peeling around the drain.

Second, hotel staff weren't equipped to feed such a large group (56 people) that had a schedule to keep. It took at least one hour to serve all 56 people at the cafeteria style restaurant for breakfast, and the fine dining experience had diners waiting for up to 2 hours to get their meal, if they received anything at all. My stead was excellent, but my dining partner's order got messed up and she received the veal instead of the fish she ordered. Appetizer salad arrived after the main entree. To be fair, perhaps the group organizer hadn't informed the hotel about the group's itinerary, but the hotel should bear some of the responsibility in not meeting their client's needs.

If you have a car and can drive to restaurants nearby, this hotel might do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I called the hotel at the last minute on July 7, 2012..we needed a room after spending many hours at the medical center---The hotel staff ( 2 different people) were very Pleasant on the phone and told me to come to the hotel and they would be happy to accommodate us---when we arrived, we were able to check in immediately and went to the room..I was VERY pleased with the room-- every thing was neat..clean.and in working order...........I would advise anyone to stay here---------We were in a rush to return to the hospital in the morning so we did not have time to use either pool or restaurant......thank you for the QUIET RESTFUL STAY !

Room Tip: We were on the second floor---could see the pool area -but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Two $225 charges to our bank account that were on hold for days after our stay. That is a very slimy thing to do. The place smelled like feet, the bread for our sandwiches was stale, and the so called "curfew" was not enforced.
The staff were decent and the pool was fair, though kind of dirty. The jacuzzi was broken. I squashed a huge bug in our bathroom. I had higher expectations. I won't go near there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First let me say..the staff is very nice! The concept of low cost stay for patients at Strong memorial hosptial, their families and pets too is awesome. Add to it free shuttle to and from the hospital, airport, and town and I could say...who could ask for more? ME!! YOU!! EVERYONE! but Bowser who has peed and crapped and slimed every room in the inn. The entire place reeks of dirty dog! Carpets, furniture, curtains, and floors ALL reek of dirty dog washed into and re washed into them. The heater/air conditioner units blow dog/kennel air! Even the air vents and hair dryers do!! All the febreeze in the world cant cover or help!!
Now I LOVE DOGS! cats, birds, fish, ...you name it. BUT I am NOT living or breathing dog house kennel air. It took three room tries before we found one we could even breath in. Still when we got into the clear hospital air we both reeked of dog. Dirty old stinky dog. The arms on the red fabric chair in our first room were actually black from I am sure bowser drool.
Again ....the concept is wonderful. BUT they MUST improve by removing fabrics of every kind and replace it with washable vinyl furniture and linoleum for every rug including the elevators! so the floor is washable with bleach....and keep one entire floor for humans only!!. But as it is.....I would go elsewhere and pay to breath fresh air and drive myself to the hospital before I would EVER go near the dog house again. In fact....I would sleep in my car first! And if I would ever even think of traveling with my pet I would give it a bath and walk it outside first. And NOTICE to all....the hotel is aware of this. They have a policy that if you stay the first night they offer free to hospital patients...whether you stay the second or not you must pay for it. They KNOW its this bad and know the family of a seriously ill patient is stuck staying close to their loved one. Look for another hotel unless you absolutely need to stay here with fido. Every chain is on Henrietta along with every fast food you desire.
Again ...the general staff is very nice! Housecleaning needs to clean house!!! That means phones and remotes and clocks! I cant comment on food since the dog air was making me so ill and the phone disgusting I didnt dare even let my mind go there.
Its so hard to have a ill family and then have to suffer this also is just TOO much.

Room Tip: if you have a dog...no problem. If you dont ask for the room with "a history of the least pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at RIT Inn and the housekeepers stole my cologne that I had packed with me. Probably sold it on the streets of Rochester. Staff was uncaring and rude and did nothing. Stay away from this awful place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husand and I recently had a little "get away" stay at the RIT Inn and Conference Center. It was a delightful visit. Upon arriving, we were warmly greeted by staff in the lobby and front desk. They were very helpful and friendly as they answered all our questions.

We found our room to be very clean and spacious with a nice view of the surrounding hills. All the little extras were in the bathroom, along with a coffee pot and coffee. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Although we did not use the pool, the lifequard, graciously moved chairs out on the sunny patio for us to enjoy.

Food was available and nicely priced. We enjoyed a gourmet dinner at Charades, the restaurant off the Lobby. Both the service and the meal were excellent..

Will we go there again? You bet we will., and the sooner the better.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. Very quiet, and roomy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to RIT Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIT Inn & Conference Center

Address: 5257 West Henrietta Road, Henrietta, NY 14467
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Henrietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIT Inn & Conference Center, a premier hotel located in Rochester, New York, is perfectly located near most major businesses and area attractions. Our Hotel offers the comfort and convenience of a full service hotel at an affordable price. For your next business or leisure visit to Rochester, New York, the one hotel address worth talking about is the RIT Inn & Conference Center. We feature 304 well-equipped and comfortable guest rooms. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families, and groups. Our repeat guests stay with us for our comfort and value. Guests can enjoy spacious rooms with comfortable accommodations throughout. These stylish rooms are the ideal choice for the demanding traveler.Beds equipped with new duvet cover 100% cotton bath towels 32” Flat Panel LCD Televisions Alarm Clock Radio Data Port Voice Mail Iron/Ironing Board Hairdryer Individual Climate Control Coffee Maker Working Desk Complimentary High Speed Internet Access Concierge Service Complimentary Daily Newspaper Pet Friendly- fee applies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your RIT Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rit Inn And Conference Center
Rit Hotel Henrietta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIT Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.