We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bed and Breakfast in an amazing area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magnolia Place to your Saves list
Magnolia Place
5240 Route 414, Hector, NY 14841   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Availability & Specials
Ranked #1 of 2 Hector B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
winelover16
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Bed and Breakfast in an amazing area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I almost don't even feel the need to write a great review for Magnolia place because there are already so many. I'll sum it up short and sweet. I went on a trip with a friend of mine to do some wine tastings. I could not have asked for a more beautiful and relaxed place to stay. The innkeepers are wonderful people and you feel like you know them by the end of the trip. I felt as though I was staying in the home of a close friend rather than a hotel. The rooms are great and the breakfasts will have you giving your bathroom scale dirty looks for a bit! It is a wonderful and comfortable place and I would stay there again any time I go back from here on out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This place is the perfect getaway for your stay in the Finger Lakes region.

We checked in on a friday and stayed in the "Vintnor Room". That room, along with the "Vintage Room" are the only two on the East side of the house. It offered a lot of privacy back there. The rest of the rooms were on the West side of the house, and we were able to tour them on monday morning before we left and I really don't think you can go wrong in any of them. Some others had private jecuzzis that looked amazing.

There is a common area with a TV, DVD, and a wood fireplace.

Ted and Terri made amazing breakfasts every morning. These alone would be worth the stay. There were fresh desserts each night we came home from the wine tastings. The location is perfect right along the east side of Seneca Lake and a very driveable distance to the wineries on Lake Ceyuga.

They also have 2 wonderful dogs on premise who will lead you on a walk through the vineyards in the back. Very romantic!

Highly recommend! We will return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

My wife and I were honeymooning at the Magnolia Place for two nights and we loved it. The Magnolia Place was beautiful, quaint, and comfortable. Ted and Terri were excellent hosts and cook an exceptional breakfast.
My only issue is that I never received a confirmation email. Not after I first made the reservation by phone, and not after I called two weeks prior to our stay, again providing my email address.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Magnolia Place was the perfect place to stay and made my weekend getaway absolutely perfect. This is my first review ever posted for any stay I've ever made- and there have been plenty of good and bad, but this just completely exceeded my expectations. The place is so beautifully decorated (and clean), the hospitality was great (and friendly), and was in an ideal location (right in the midst of some of the great restaurants and wineries). I would go back again...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Excellent host and a great place to stay. The accommodations was excellent. The bed was comfortable with loads of pillows. The gourmet breakfast was something to look for every morning (delicious!!!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Beautiful house, very clean and tidy. Personable owners friendly and nice to talk to. Loved having our own veranda to sit out on a night. Felt comfortable to not feel like we had so sit in our room but can use the common areas of the house. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, delicious and filling. Views of Senca lake from the front of the house, and wineries and restaurants very close by. My husband and I had a wonderful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was an amazing stay! I have limited experience with B&Bs and my girlfriend never stayed in one before, so we weren't sure what to expect. Magnolia Place was easy to find (right off Rt. 414, near all the wineries and restaurants we were going to visit) and Ted and Terri were fabulous hosts. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite and weren't disappointed. We made liberal use of the jacuzzi tub and the room was comfortable and clean. Ted and Terri were responsive to our needs and cooked up delicious breakfasts for their guests both days we stayed (Saturday and Sunday). We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 5240 Route 414, Hector, NY 14841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hector
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hector
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Finger Lake Region's Bed and Breakfasts. Enjoy a country breakfast overlooking Seneca Lake. Sit by a fire in the privacy of your room or luxuriate in one of our oversized Jacuzzi tubs. Spend the day experiencing the Finger Lakes Wine Country where the wines are premier quality. Take some time to hike the trails of our nearby National Forest or visit Watkins Glen International Raceway. Relax and rejuvenate at Magnolia Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Place Hotel Hector

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.