We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Magnolia Place to your Saves list
Magnolia Place
5240 Route 414, Hector, NY 14841   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Availability & Specials
Ranked #1 of 3 Hector B&B and Inns
NE PA
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews, but Magnolia Place is very deserving of one. The view from the front porch overlooking Seneca Lake is beautiful. So relaxing sitting out there early in the morning while sipping hot coffee. At 9:00am the breakfast bell chimes for the most delicious breakfast I've had in a long time. Terri & Ted are awesome hosts! Every aspect of our stay was perfect! Thanks so much for our relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
84
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent a few days at the Magnolia Inn overlooking a gorgeous vineyard and Seneca Lake, beautiful place to unwind and relax in New York's wine country!

The owners are so nice, they made us feel right at home! Breakfasts were outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful evenings at Magnolia Place. The Lilac suite was beautiful and the view from the porch was gorgeous. The breakfasts were delicious!! We also had "Table for Two" come to the B&B and cook dinner for us.......what a culinary experience!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is hard to know where to start, I don't usually write gushing reviews but everything about Magnolia Place was perfect. The location is in one of the prettiest parts of the Finger Lake region with many wineries and small restaurants close by. The decor is elegant and comfortable. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite with a fabulous jacuzzi tub and private deck overlooking the lake. The rooms and common areas were spacious and beautifully furnished, These features would have been enough to warrant a return visit but equally amazing was the gourmet breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh baked goods, waffles or an egg dish, beautifully served on the porch or a light filled dining room. One important tip, many of the nicest restaurants are only open Thursday- Sunday.

Room Tip: We loved the Magnolia Suite but the Champagne Suite is directly in front facing the lake with a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days on a recent trip to the Finger Lakes area. It is located a few miles outside of Watkins Glen on route 414 and perfect for visiting the winery's and other attractions. The first thing one notices when one drives up is how well cared for the outside is. It is perfect. Then as you walk in, you notice how neat and clean everything is. Ted met us in the kitchen area, checked us in then took us on a tour of the house. He showed us everywhere. There is a little room with a guest fridge, wine glasses, cork screws, games, videos and a place to keep the wine you purchased so you did not have to leave it in your room. There is a large living room area with TV and soft music playing. There is a huge wrap around porch on the ground floor level and a wrap around veranda on the upper level. Everywhere was immaculate. Our room was no different. Fantastic! It was clean and welcoming. We had the Champaign room. It has a hot tub and a four poster bed. Very nice. There is a door leading out on to the veranda. The view over the lake was really great for sunsets. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Now! One of the best features of Magnolia Place is the breakfast. Magnificent! Ted and Terry don't just make breakfast, they create it. There were fresh fruits and berries everyday. Creations like the sunrise soufflé, the Baked Blueberry French Toast, The sausage potato casserole and of course there were the banana bread, waffles and pancakes. Not just pancakes, but Pumpkin Pancakes. There was Cinnamon Syrup for your waffles as well. Ted and Terry offered many ideas on things to do and places to go to. They know the area and were very helpful. In fact, they were the perfect hosts. Of course, along with Ted and Terry there was Irish. He is a well behaved black lab. He knows where he can and can not go in the house so he is not in the way of any guests. Although, he will allow you to take him for a walk up the hill to the vineyards. This was only our second stay at a B & B and it will not be our last. We are planning another trip to this area in the future and we certainly will stay at the Magnolia Place. After this stay, we may never stay at a hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The owner's we're very gracious and accommodating (dog included). The place was beautifully kept and eco-friendly. The living room and the patio were very welcoming. Full of books, games and movies to enjoy. My favorite part was the wonderful breakfasts. Everything was plentiful, fresh and just delicious! We were able to have breakfast on their beautiful wrap around porch overlooking the lake one morning and it was just perfect. The owners also gave us some great suggestions on local restaurants and wineries to explore. The location was great for checking out a bunch of wineries and Watkin's Glen was just a short drive away for hiking or water activities. Truly loved it and cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Magnolia Place is a perfect example of why you should consider a B&B instead of a hotel, when you are on vacation and want to relax! The owners Terry & Ted took great care to ensure the "little touches" that truly allow for comfort - and even pampering. The house is immaculate and well-appointed, with many different places to relax and read, drink a glass of wine, chat with your traveling companion. Breakfast will be the highlight of your day, no matter what else you do. The food is sweet and savory, and presented beautifully. We had a person in our group who needed a few special accommodations because of using a cane to walk, and the first floor suite was the perfect fit for her. The B&B is also centrally located to just about anything you could want to do - wineries, lake activities, good eateries, Watkins Glen racetrack. Believe all the good reviews on this place - don't miss it if you are in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 5240 Route 414, Hector, NY 14841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hector
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hector
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Finger Lake Region's Bed and Breakfasts. Enjoy a country breakfast overlooking Seneca Lake. Sit by a fire in the privacy of your room or luxuriate in one of our oversized Jacuzzi tubs. Spend the day experiencing the Finger Lakes Wine Country where the wines are premier quality. Take some time to hike the trails of our nearby National Forest or visit Watkins Glen International Raceway. Relax and rejuvenate at Magnolia Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Place Hotel Hector

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.