We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonecat - Great Place to Eat (Best Cat Fish Ever.....)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecat Cafe

Stonecat Cafe
5315 State Route 414, Hector, NY 14841-9706
607-546-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hector
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
1,781 reviews 1,781 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 397 cities Reviews in 397 cities
1,050 helpful votes 1,050 helpful votes
“Stonecat - Great Place to Eat (Best Cat Fish Ever.....)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to Stonecat when in the Seneca Lake Area based on the recommendation we read on the Trip Advisor forum from a local who lived in the area. And her recommendation was spot on.

We were there on a Wednesday do went there for their Pub Night.

We both had their cat fish - yummy! So well prepared. At the table close to us there was another party that had the catfish as well - he was a visiting chef on a Finger Lakes vacation. He too raved about the catfish and said it was the best of his life.

We enjoyed their wonderful desserts....the wine....and had a great time.

Service was friendly and excellent (I was surprised that the server apologized for being a bit slow about bringing out our dessert.....it was normal wait time for most San Francisco restaurants).....She is such a wonderful excellent person.

All in all - go to Stonecat if in the area. Good food, lively restaurant (it was full on a mid week Wednesday night in October - partially due to their pub night specials). Its a great meal and memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    71
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly nice place with a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday for the brunch and was very pleased with the meal. It was not a brunch buffet but the food was very good and the view of the lake beautiful! It's actually very upscale dining despite the appearance from outside! I guess you can't judge a place until you go in, it's much bigger and nicer inside! Try it if your up in wine country!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have tried for years to visit Stonecat when we are in the area and finally we were able to on this trip. It was worth the wait! We had lunch on their casual and scenic patio. The Hector Pulled Pork BBQ sandwich was full of flavor and the meat was incredibly tender and juicy, just what I had hoped for. And the side of dill coleslaw was the perfect accompaniment. My husband had the Smoked Turkey sandwich and although he loved it(he is a turkey nut!) he thought the pulled pork sandwich was the winner here. We would both order it again next time.

Our waiter was very nice and knowledgable about the local wines on the list. Although a beer was recommended for the pork, I preferred a glass of wine. He helped me chose the perfect one and we liked it so much we went to the winery to buy a few bottles right after lunch! By the way, it was the Sauvignon Blanc from the Hector Wine Company.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average, that is from good to not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Soups were delicious. Salads were wilted, french fries tasted that they were from the time Seneca lake was formed. I wonder why some tables have a table cloth others don't. It must be nice to seat out during the summer months. Prices are quite reasonable, but I wouldn't mind paying a bit more if the food were better. Location is beautiful, although the restaurant itself is quite spartan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the stop, poor management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reservation for 4 on Sunday for lunch/brunch.

We waited 1 hour for our lunches that were from their classic menu, available everyday.
2 soups, a catfish and pulled pork.
Ap special of roasted garlic bulb tasty. Foccacia bread very nice.
As we waited for our entree's, we watched those who were seated and served around us, finish , pay bill and leave....our waiter never gave any explanation why our meals were not served. Finally another member of the staff, noted our expressions and in 1 minute we had our meals.
Soup was lukewarm, Entree's were well prepared.
I asked the hostess to speak to the manager, I waited and observed her advise the manager that someone was needing to speak to her...the manager looked at me from across the room, went and chatted with two people at the bar and then as I stood there waiting, seated 2 patrons that walked in .....at that time I advised the hostess that obviously the manager was unable to speak to me, she could read my review on Trip Advisor...that got her attention. She was apologetic and took the soups off the bill....too late. We are local people who were entertaining guests, not that that should matter but tourists often get a poor treatment in touristy areas. Regardless, we'll not bring any guests there again and highly doubtful we'll return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonecat Cafe also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Stonecat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonecat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.