We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From bad to worse!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecat Cafe

Stonecat Cafe
5315 State Route 414, Hector, NY 14841-9706
607-546-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hector
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“From bad to worse!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our party of five couldn't have been more disappointed in this dining experience. Food and service left a lot to be desired.

Management did not respond properly to our request for refinements to our drinks. We asked for a few substitutions to our meal orders, such as mashed potatoes instead of quinoa, which was accommodated, only to find out when we got the bill that we were charged extra for each substitution. Our server did not disclose this upfront. My husband's meal arrived while the rest of us waited and waited and waited. He was actually finished before my daughter-in-law even got her drink. When we inquired about the rest of the meals, the waitress said she would bring us some bread while we waited only to find out when the bill arrived that we were charged for that too. The quality of food was sub-par at best. Ingredients were not fresh, lacking in flavor and barely edible.

I would not recommend Stone Cat Cafe. Save your time and money and find someplace else to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    71
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

There were four of us so we decided to share different platters. We had the cheeseburger, BBQ pork, hummus,and chicken quesadilla. Everything was excellent and their french fries were to die for. You have to try the vanilla creamsicle as well. Service was great. Will go there again on our return trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Do Not Drive By”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Each time we drive to this area we stop here for a meal, usually dinner however today we tried lunch. As usual service very friendly and knowledgeable food fantastic. My friend had one of the specials haddock in tempura batter with lovely fresh local sides. I had a cup of the seafood chowder amazing! Then the falafel salad no surprises really good. Really looking forward to our next visit. The chef and team really are amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fresh, sourced food... amazing drink menu, funky fun ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Suggested by our hotel staff - well worthwhile! Situated on the east side of Lake Seneca, this warm and eclectic spot offers inside and outside dining, a menu citing the sources of their ingredients and a fascinating drink menu. We both had appetizers stunning enough to photograph - my caprese salad sparkled with the addition of peaches and edible flowers to the standard, fresh fare. My husband had a roasted head of elephant garlic, to be spread like butter -- along with soft chèvre on crusty bread. By far the best food we had in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must Stop Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great food...Great atmosphere! Exercise the option to buy the kitchen a beer! Maybe you will be lucky enough to be there for one of the IPA tastings!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonecat Cafe also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Stonecat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonecat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.