We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Many Gems” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Standing Stone Vineyards

Standing Stone Vineyards
9934 Route 414, Hector, NY 14841
607-582-6051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 things to do in Hector
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic vineyards provide a stunning view from our intimate and casual tasting room. We offer delightful handcrafted wines - Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Chardonnay and "Ice style" dessert wines - served with gourmet bread by our friendly and helpful staff.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of Many Gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I take our own three-day winery trip tour every Memorial Day weekend and never miss the opportunity to stop by Standing Stone. This is one of the best wineries by far. The help is always joyful and really know what they are talking about. They have some of the most consistent wines in the region also. They also have snacks out with dipping sauces to taste with the wines. If you don't have enough time on your trip to hit all the wineries (it would take a week at least) make sure this one is on the top of your list.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Enjoyed the experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time Shirley our server was wonderful. Very knowledgable enjoyed the wine. Especially the iced chardonay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Stop and feed the fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Even if you don't like the wines, and i will be amazed if you don't, the kids can feed the fish in the pond with 50 cent cups of food. We truly enjoyed the wine, found the staff delightful and enjoyed our stay. We hung out on their porch and ate cheese and drank wine while it rained.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dams, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didnt like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our server was old and stuffy. The wines was awful (for our taste anyway) and no stools, no gift shop. Not a place I would visit again or recomend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A true gem on Lake Seneca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't pass by Standing Stone on your Lake Seneca trip. They have some of the tastiest reds on the lakes, along with delightful ice wines. Stop by, you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standing Stone Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Standing Stone Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standing Stone Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.