We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Derek's Restaurant & BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Derek's Restaurant & BBQ
3631 Tichenor Rd, Hector, NY 14841
607 546 4294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Hector
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I dropped in during a wine-tasting tour of the Seneca Lake area. We had been looking for a good smokehouse in the area. Sandwiches only. No ribs. No platters. No sides, except potato chips and a pickle. We will keep looking....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hector, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Local and fresh! A great place to grab a bite. Love the tomato soup!
Toni is the greatest server around. Great daily specials.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Derek's wife was our waitress and she was delightful. The boys at the bar put the Buffalo football game for us. Hubby loved the pork brisket and I loved the beef brisket and sweet potato fries. Their homemade BBQ sauce was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock
2 reviews
“Well Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Whenever we visit Seneca Lake's wineries, we build our trip around either breakfast or lunch at Derek's. Sensational service & food -- especially the barbecue. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Local Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Derek's is a great place to grab quick simple tasty food. All of the locals eat here regularly. Try the pork bbq.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derek's Restaurant & BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Derek's Restaurant & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derek's Restaurant & BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.