We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lunch as good as the wine & view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro

Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro
3675 Tichenor Road, Hector, NY 14841
607 546 4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Hector
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Experience our region's farms, vineyards, and community. Together we create the wine & cuisine that defines our place – the Finger Lakes region. Come to Red Newt Cellars and allow yourself to truly taste the Finger Lakes. As a recipient of Wine & Spirits Magazine's 2011 Winery of the Year, the winemakers craft elegant, regionally expressive Finger Lakes wines with an emphasis on Single Vineyard aromatic whites such as Riesling, Gewürztraminer, and Pinot Gris. Red Newt also produces world-class reds perfectly suited for the cool-climate region of the Finger Lakes: Cabernet Franc, Pinot Noir, and Merlot. The message at Red Newt is simple: grown here, made here. With the innovative, locally sourced Finger Lakes cuisine in the Bistro, the chefs at Red Newt are continuously working to build an awareness of regional products as well as to create lasting relationships between local farmers and restauranteurs. The menu is ever-changing, eclectic, and exciting - tailored to reflect the seasons of the Finger Lakes. The wine list, presented with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, offers well over 200 selections from top producers in the region. With a collaborative team of winemakers and chefs, it is this synergy between the expression of wine and cuisine that sets Red Newt apart.
Penn Yan, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lunch as good as the wine & view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had always heard wonderful things about the Bistro at this winery, so we made it our late lunch destination. Our wine tasting experience was great, we particularly liked the Cab Franc and Hellbender Port Style(not sickly sweet). The dining experience was even better. We opted to sit outside rather than in the airconditioning and the view and nature around us was well worth being a tad warm. The food was exceptional. We shared the Trio of Spreads and four of us each got a taste, all were good. Two did the popular stuffed Grilled Cheese and both loved it. The other two did the Gnocchi and Pasta dishes and both were excellent and served nice and hot. Add a couple of glasses of wine and creme brulee (which was prepared properly) for dessert and you have a perfect end to a wine tour on Seneca Lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    52
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We received a gift certificate for this winery and visited the restaurant in July, 2014. We had heard great things about this venue. We thought they gave us the wrong menu for dinner. There were very few entrees and mostly sandwiches and appetizers. We opted for the pork entree and the mussel special and the server promptly returned at 730 and informed us that they were out. We ordered the cheese and meatloaf sandwich and the roasted vegetables. The roasted vegetables were not roasted and consisted of a small potatoe and small carrot cut up in a small dish for $6. The cheese wasn't melted on the sandwich. We had two glasses of wine that were good. Total tab with tax and tip was $55 and we walked away hungry and disappointed. Skip this until they get their act together.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment at Red Newt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stopped for lunch at Red Newt recently and was so disappointed with the food. Ordered pasta of the day that turned out to be way overcooked (limp is the word). The pasta was mingled with a few sliced carrots as well as a few potato slices and a few bits of parsley. There was too much oil dressing that congregated at the bottom of the bowl. This dish was served with one slim piece of toasted bread.
And I do not consider the above described dish to be highly original.

Guests had some Gewurz at $12.00 and $14.00 per glass. All local Gewurz.

The service was good. The restaurant is huge with a good sized dining deck with good views. Just sorry the food doesn't match the setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We originally visited Red Newt in October 2013 and were so impressed with the amazing seasonal dinner and wine flights that we decided to come back with family. We were not disappointed. New wines to try, new in season menu, live music and amazing, --yes amazing desserts! Dining outside with the sunset makes it extra special. The lady who did our wine tasting was very knowledgeable about the wines and really took her time with us. They were also wonderful to our young daughter at both visits.
I think this place is unique. You can enjoy a great wine tasting and also a meal in one place. The view on the hill overlooking the vineyards nearby and the lake is nice too. (If you are going there this summer, I recommend the rhubarb cobbler and creme brulee trio for dessert.)
100 percent satisfied with our visit. Will be back next year to see what the latest releases are in the rieslings--which are extra special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Gem on Seneca Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped in for a tasting and late lunch close to closing time and were really impressed with the wine, the knowledgable sommelier and the food from the bistro. We didn't feel rushed or herded along as can happen at other wineries. The staff really went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. You can just tell they have their hearts in what they do here. The wine was really impressive, the dry Gewurztraminer and the Glacier Ridge Cab Franc stole the show. At one point, one of the growers stopped in and we got to meet him. Good luck finding that in other wine regions of the world. Also, the black bean cakes and stuffed pork loin were delicious. Thank you Red Newt!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro also viewed

 
Geneva, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.