We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got kicked to another cheap hotel at 1.30 am without refund or so much as an apology” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Long Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Long Island to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Long Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Motor Parkway, Hauppauge, NY 11788   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Got kicked to another cheap hotel at 1.30 am without refund or so much as an apology”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

They asked me to go out at 1.30 am when I had a prepaid reservation to another insect infected hotel . They dint even have the courtesy to tell me ahead that they had done overbooking. Worst service ever.
I had to deal with all this after a cross country 6 hour flight from west coast. The manager "Karen" I spoke to dint so much as apologize after lying to me on phone just an hour earlier welcoming me to the hotel for check-in after I called the hotel when my flight landed.
To make things worse, I barely had any sleep at the cheap hotel they sent me to and pretty much ruined my trip when I had come there to attend my brothers graduation day.

A good planned family vacation turned to into the most inconvenient and annoying trip. I pretty much stayed at my brothers place for the rest of the trip

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
24
1
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this "hotel" for five long days. and I have to say 4 out of five days here were horrible! upon arrival the door attendant Danielle was wonderful a plus to this hotel! it was the front desk that was bothersome. I asked for a quiet room and was put right next to the stairs where not only do you hear the noise of the door slamming every two seconds but the people yelling in the stairwell also! I called numerous times to speak to a manager and each time was told that the manager was on break or was hung up on! what ticked me off the most was as I walked down to the front desk to talk about my issues the supervisor Michael was to distracted on his phone! felt as if I was talking to the wall. honestly what kind of supervisor looks at his phone while talking to a guest! overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any client.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at hotel for six nights in late April/early May to attend my son's wedding to a lovely girl from Merrick from the Wald family. There were six of us from Australia for that period and I know the hotel also catered for a larger number of the Wald's relatives and friends from all over the US. The 120-seated wedding reception held at adjacent high-class golf club; they also did a great job. Your staff like Kelly on Front Reception, Christian looking after drinks at a pre-wedding dinner and Maria attending our room on the 6th Floor are all definite assets to your hotel. It's a long way to go for a wedding (about 24 hours by plane and airport transfers from Sydney via Los Angeles and to JFK) but your hotel and staff created the right atmosphere for such a happy event.

Room Tip: Sixth floor or higher with room looking out over golf course and general countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Mike.

Yes...Long Island is certainly a long way from Australia! And I know you have some nice Hyatts in your country (I stayed at the Park Hyatt Sydney once). So thank you for the "Five Star" rating.

As I repeatedly say in my responses, we are fortunate to have some great associates. I appreciate you recognizing a few: Kelly, Christian and Maria.

We love Australians so please spread the word to anyone heading our way. Thanks again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here I've been comming for about 7. Yrs I remember Terry. D'Amato she was great also I want to thank Celia very pleasant and a great help and Jessica. DANIELA. WAS A HEIP TO ME I LOST SOMETHING AND HELPED THE SITUATION I'M SUPPOSED TO BE LEAVING TODAY BUT I MIGHT WANT TO EXTEND. MY STAY THANK YOU EVERY ONE INCLUDING Kirk. Ur great at the breakfast buffet also Henry who.i just met was very nice ty for my stay

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Theresa.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt and for writing such a nice review. I'm thrilled to see so many of our stars recognized...Celia, Jessica, Danielle, Kirk and Henrry. We are indeed fortunate to have such great associates who truly care about our hotel and our guests.

Please come back again and soon. We are grateful for your business!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

light out in bathroom, wall outlet in bathroom had poor circuit breaker and someone broke the ground lead off a plug and was still there. Housekeepers are in the rooms prior to guests arrival, don't they see these things? Or is it that they don't care. Why does a guest have to report problems on their arrival? Where is the supervision, things keep getting worse

Room Tip: Insist on a room that was inspected prior to your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Frank.

Thank you for your continued business and for your honest feedback. We have certainly had some engineering challenges lately but we have hired some new staff and have invested in the proper tools and training to get the job done!

Every business has a few hiccups, I'm sorry that you endured more than your fair share on your last visit. Please give us another chance; I'm confident you will see improvements.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just checked in and was greeted by a very pleasant young woman named Danielle .
She was extremely helpful in getting my room and helping me with my luggage.

The room is very nice and clean. So far, we are off to a good start .

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Dskota!

Thank you for the initial feedback and for recognizing Danielle. As you can see from so many posts, Danielle is definitely our biggest star. But she is one of many!

So I hope the rest of your stay was equally "Five Star". Thank you and hope to see you again.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lady. Jessica. And her associate Celia was very pleasant during my stay. awesome stay!! Always a pleasure. Excellent service at the restaurant kirk was great! Hyatt Regency is the best hotel on long island

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Theresa.

Wow...I love your post...thank you! I'm thrilled to hear that in your case we achieved our goal; to be the best hotel on Long Island.

Jessica, Celia and Kirk will receive HyFive coupons for being recognized. They can redeem these for a variety of prizes. So the "best staff ever" thanks you!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Island

Address: 1717 Motor Parkway, Hauppauge, NY 11788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hauppauge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the secret to blending relaxation with endless attractions – discover Hyatt Regency Long Island. Stylishly casual, elegantly inviting, this Long Island New York hotel is a resort-like retreat in the heart of the action. No other Long Island hotel offers so much in such a convenient spot. From our secluded setting just off the LIE, you can tour area wineries, kick back on Jones Beach or Fire Island, gaze at incredible homes in the Hamptons or spend the day in NYC. Within our grounds, you'll find 160 acres filled with championship golf, pools, gorgeous views, irresistible dining, extensive event venues, and luxurious guestrooms with pampering amenities. Uncover this hidden escape at the most unique of hotels in Long Island, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Island Hotel Hauppauge
Hyatt Regency Hotel Hauppauge
Hyatt Long Island
Hyatt Windwatch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.