We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alarming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Long Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Long Island to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Long Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 Motor Parkway, Hauppauge, NY 11788   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Long Island, United States
1 review
“Alarming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel overall was very nice - however the alarms that went off throughout the night left a lot to be desired. Whoever was in charge of resetting them, did not know how to properly do so. Other than that, the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Amanda.

Thank you for selecting the Hyatt for your stay and for posting a response. As I have mentioned on previous posts, the fire was real. The fire alarms and full evacuation at 2am were required and for guest safety. The alarms at 6am were caused by sprinkler malfunctions.

We definitely should have been better at communication and extending apologies and concessions. Something I have discussed repeatedly with my leadership team.

Please give us another chance. I'm confident on your next visit you will have a Five Star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
23
1
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderful visit. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Celia at the front desk made our stay very enjoyable and was always able to provide us with great suggestions for whatever we needed. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello "DCPratt".

Thank you for your Five Star review and for your business! I'm glad to hear that you will definitely stay with us again.

And I am thrilled that you recognized Celia, one of our new stars! We are fortunate to have so many great associates who really care and love what they do.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was beautiful and our rooms were nice and clean. We had a block of ten rooms and were scattered on different floors. 2AM alarms went off and we had to evacuate (fire in dumpster). Some of us never received compensation for abrupt interruption. 6AM alarms went off again. Scary

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Ulrik.

Thank you for your posting. We obviously had a bad night last weekend. The fire was obviously no fault of the hotel. The alarms and evacuation were for our guest's safety. We are thankful that no one was hurt and the small, controlled fire caused very little damage.

But all fires and alarms are indeed scary and disturbing. We will continue to train our associates on the best way to handle emergencies and equally as important on how to treat our guests the following morning who are rightfully tired and frustrated.

Please give us another chance. This was the first fire we have had in a long time, so I'm confident that on your next visit you will have a tranquil and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Hyatt Regency Long Island several times, and the rooms are always clean and very comfortable, and the staff is very accommodating. However, on our most recent trip, we stayed in a corner room, overlooking the side entrance of the hotel. I was dismayed that two coach buses were allowed to idle outside of the side entrance for at least an hour starting around 6:30 a.m. (or maybe even earlier). Even though we were on one of the top floors, the noise from the buses was disruptive. This seems like a completely unnecessary situation, and I hope that the management of the hotel will change their policy about this in the future. Aside from that one drawback, this is by far the nicest hotel in this area of Long Island.

Room Tip: I'd steer clear of the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFranDoc, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello ELJ59.

Thank you for your business and for calling us the best hotel in this part of Long Island. Our goal is to be the best in ALL of Long Island...so I'm glad to hear we are heading in the right direction.

I'm sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed by the buses. I agree, this is completely not acceptable and I have communicate this to our leadership team. They weren't our buses of course but we will make sure any of our client buses know not to idle for that long of a period. If they need to "idle" they can do so in the parking lot far from guest rooms.

Thank you again. I hope you will return to the Hyatt soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was there this past January, when Long Island got hit with a blizzard. My overall stay was good. The front desk was very helpful and attentive throughout my visit. Ismira made sure I had all the details regarding the storm, flight cancellations, and definitely went above and beyond!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFranDoc, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Brad.

Thank you for visiting Long Island during a blizzard! We certainly had a difficult winter but I'm glad to hear Ismira rose to the occasion and provided you with world class Hyatt service. She is certainly a star and we are fortunate to have her on the team.

Please visit us again...but may I recommend the summer when you can golf, swim, play basketball, visit wineries and more!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel.

I stay here frequently for business.

Michael Huber is always very helpful with a smile on his face.

The rooms are nice with good views.

The restaurant has pretty good food with the lobster roll being the best. The Philly cheesesteak is pretty good. Good selection of wine and beer. The Long Island IPA is very hoppy.

Room service is very cordial.

Arlene Reyes is always helpful in making business arrangements.

David Ryan should be commended on a well run hotel.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFranDoc, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Lincoln.

Thank you for the kind words...I am very fortunate to work with some awesome associates, including those that you recognized...Michael and Arlene. But they are just two of so many!

If you like the food now, just wait until our new Executive Chef starts next week. I'm confident that the new summer menu will really wow our overnight guests and draw in the locals as well!

Our goal is to be the best hotel on Long Island. Our guests, especially repeat guests like you, deserve nothing less!

I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not the first Hyatt that I've stayed at but it is the first one with a surprise breakfast that cost us over $25 a person... Especially when everything was self serve except for the bill which included gratuity and then a space for optional additional gratuity. Overall, very clean please but please change this to a complementary breakfast like your other Hyatt locations in the USA.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Long Island, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Matt.

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt and for your feedback. Breakfast is only included if it is negotiated as part of your corporate rate. In your case, I see that you booked a rate through a travel agency that did not include breakfast.

I have asked our Business Travel Sales Manager to contact your company representative and the travel agent to see if we should change the rate moving forward to be breakfast included.

Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Long Island

Address: 1717 Motor Parkway, Hauppauge, NY 11788
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hauppauge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the secret to blending relaxation with endless attractions – discover Hyatt Regency Long Island. Stylishly casual, elegantly inviting, this Long Island New York hotel is a resort-like retreat in the heart of the action. No other Long Island hotel offers so much in such a convenient spot. From our secluded setting just off the LIE, you can tour area wineries, kick back on Jones Beach or Fire Island, gaze at incredible homes in the Hamptons or spend the day in NYC. Within our grounds, you'll find 160 acres filled with championship golf, pools, gorgeous views, irresistible dining, extensive event venues, and luxurious guestrooms with pampering amenities. Uncover this hidden escape at the most unique of hotels in Long Island, New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Long Island Hotel Hauppauge
Hyatt Regency Hotel Hauppauge
Hyatt Long Island
Hyatt Windwatch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.