We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, mid-level hotel but a bit expensive for a Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Commons Drive, Route 28, Hartwick, NY 13326-9516   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Lafayette Hill, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice, mid-level hotel but a bit expensive for a Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Most of Cooperstown accomodations are bed & breakfasts so there are not a lot of true hotel options. This hotel is a few miles out of downtown, but an easy ride. Hotel seems very new and is in good condition. Breakfast is included and was a fine typical continental breakfast.

Hotel was pricey for a Best Western though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    119
    50
    22
    20
See reviews for
134
96
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western mid-week May 13-15. We managed to get a great deal from their web site offering a 'managers special' which included discounted price and free tickets to the Baseball Hall of Fame.
The location is only five minutes from the HoF and it is located on a cul-de-sac that has a few restraunts, a food store, liquors and shops. We liked that about the location. Ease and convience if we choose to grab a snack to bring back to the room or have inside the hotel in the main room.
The rooms are typical budget motel rooms that were clean and roomie. Our room had two queen size beds. The hotel offers free continental breakfast with eggs, make your own waffles and pleanty of coffee, something we all liked.
The pool area was average size as hotels go with a hot tub (wasn't hot enough though) and lounge chairs.
Staff was suficent and housekeeping did an excellent job.
We are on a tight budget and compaired to the pirces of some of the hotels lakeside in the town of Cooperstown, we felt we got a great deal.
The days of our stay we did look over the Holiday Inn (stands alone with nothing close by) and the Red Carpet (Looked older and not as nice) down the road and comparing the three we feel we deffinally make the best pick.

We would stay here again and would advise family and friends to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We went to Cooperstown for a weekend trip to go to the Baseball Hall of fame. We had no problems at all with the location- really close to everything (theres not to much around cooperstown) Overall the hotel was fantastic- the rooms were big and clean. The hotel staff was very freindly. The only draw back was the location of the pool- located with large windows right next to the hotel lobby. The very unexpected hightlight was the continental breakfast. We were expecting the standard cereal and toast- to my surprise they have a make your own waffle station - buiscuits and gravy and a very nice assortment of fresh fruits. Overall, if we are ever in Coopstown , we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Extremely clean- rooms are so big and comfy! Continental breakfast offered every day and was pretty yummy! The bed is heavenly- the jacuzzi tub so soothing. It's in the middle of nowhere but the place was so well kept and the price is so affordable. If you're going to the Cooperstown area, you have to check the availability here.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay, the staff was very helpful and did their best to ensure that their guests were satisfied. There was a problem with the heat in our room and the front desk person went out of her way to get us moved to another room immediately, even offering to help us relocate.

This hotel is outside Cooperstown, south about 4 miles in a quiet rural area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We didn't feel like a B&B in the quaint town of Cooperstown. While I'm sure there are some great ones to choose from we weren't sure of our schedule's flexibility. I found the Best Western at the Commmons as I was shopping on price. The reviews looked good and while we've had mixed results with Best Western in the past, more recently our experience has been better. This is a fine place to stay. Attractive and large lobby with big easy chairs, fireplace and big screen TV. No surprise there is a baseball theme throughout the public areas. Room was well appointed and clean. Hallways wide and nice. Pool was closed but not a problem for us.

Next door is O'Hanlans Steak House where we had some great ribs, Hawg Wings which was a beefy rib selection with great sauce. We assumed we'd be splitting a big rack but instead they were fall off the bone with lots of meat but only three ribs. We split the meal anyway and did fine. A little pricey on the entree's but good food and right next door to the Best Western. McDonald's and Pizza Hut also across the parking lot.

  • Liked — Location and roominess
  • Disliked — Could use a little paint attention on the front of the building but inside is nice.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

I arrived in Cooperstown late in the day without a reservation. My AAA guide gave this hotel a good rating, and it had a room available. I was too tired to do any comparison shopping.

The hotel is a few miles south of Cooperstown. It looks like it's trying to clean up, but still has a lot of work to do. I think the owners, if they are serious about it, should sit in the bathroom of each room or suite and experience what their clients experience.

In my case, this would be a lovely view of mildew in the grout and sealants; strange little rolled bits of t.p. in the crevice below the toilet tank (ew!); the rattle and roar of the loose vent/light in the ceiling; the sour smell of an a.c. in need of cleaning. I unplugged the loudly buzzing refrigerator. Although I propped its door open to let it air out, it smelled sour by the next evening, leaving me to wonder how many things had spoiled in it in the past.

Somebody downstairs or down the hall was smoking. I guess the management can't control guests who don't respect the policy, but they can control their response when it is mentioned to them.

I didn't feel entirely safe there -- don't know whether it was the drunk guy in the parking lot in front of the supermarket next door, the cop cars in the lot at the McDonald's there, or the safe (for my valuables) in the room. I considered trying to find a different hotel for my second night, but since it was only going to be one more night, I wasn't sure it would be worth the effort. Cooperstown in general just didn't seem like a hospitable place.

  • Liked — My window faced east -- full sun in the morning
  • Disliked — Dirty, didn't feel entirely safe
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites

Address: 50 Commons Drive, Route 28, Hartwick, NY 13326-9516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn And Suites
Best Western Hotel Cooperstown
Cooperstown Best Western
Best Western Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.