We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August Lodge Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Save
You added August Lodge Cooperstown to your Saves list
259 Seminary Rd., Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

August Lodge was top notch. Nice, clean rooms and overall perfect facilities. Pool area and screened in porch were great. The views were outstanding. Daily room cleaning was unexpected and very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a very nice touch and location to dreams park could not be beat!! You will love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemus Point, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There really are no words to use to explain how wonderful are stay was at the Lodge. We were there for a memorial in Richfield Springs in May. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The accommodations were perfect & the bed was extremely comfortable. My husband & I lead a very hectic life, we plan on going back for peace & quiet very soon. My only disappointment was not seeing any deer or bears....maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My 17 year old son has decided that when life gets to be too much and he needs to get away from it all he is going to August Lodge and Spa. What a beautiful place, sitting high on a hill with a beautiful view. I thought the hotel had just opened is was so clean. I later learned that it has been open for more than a year at least. Truly a sign of a caring and commited staff.
The room was large and had a small 2 burner stove, a small fridge and a sink, so glad I wasn't staying at the Best Western or Holiday Inn. The only negative comment is that the sound proofing between the rooms could be better. At night you can easily eavesdrop on your neighbors conversations. This property is a quick drive to Cooperstown. Highly recommend it for families traveling to the Baseball Hall of Fame or some fun on Otwego Lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The cleanest accommodations I have ever had at a hotel! Extremely comfortable, very accommodating staff, beautifully decorated, serene setting- all at a very affordable price!! I can not wait to go back to the August and spend more time enjoying the amenities it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in early October and August Lodge met all of our expectations. I read many reviews before booking and just want to clarify that it is a lodge, not a resort. The accommodations are moderate 3-3.5 stars, it's not a luxury property. It is comfortable and clean, great for families.The fall colors were exceptional on the grounds and in Cooperstown as well which was a special treat for us. The king/queen room was large and clean. Though we didn't use it the convenience of the kitchenette would be wonderful for a longer stay. The staff was friendly and helpful when checking us in as well as assisting with printing boarding passes and purchasing tickets for the Hall. The light breakfast was great - muffins, cereal and fruit along with juices, milk and coffee. Just enough to get you going. The screened patio was a wonderful place to enjoy coffee and start the day. The location is convenient to Cooperstown, a short 7 minute drive. We would stay again and recommend to our friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Cooperstown and made reservations in advance, most of the B&B's were sold out, so we decided to try the August Lodge. It was very nice, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The fall foliage atop the hill was spectacular. However we were looking for a quiet getaway weekend and they are a family friendly lodge. They built a fire at night to toast marshmallow and there was a play ground, great activities for families traveling with children. I would go back if I traveled with children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have visited and stayed in the Cooperstown area 3 times in the past few years, most recently at the August Lodge and what an incredible find! The detailed and massive post and beam construction, incredibly detailed and built into the lodge by Steve are a marvel to behold. Our double queen room was clean and well appointed with rustic furnishings and accents abounding. Add to this, a quiet, secluded setting with professional and friendly staff and we found something you just can’t get in a franchise chain accommodation! While we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the pool or hot tub, a late night camp fire in the back yard fire pit was an excellent cap to a great stay. We will return!

Dick and Patty, NE PA

Room Tip: I can't say whether one room or the other would be better. I always prefer upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Address: 259 Seminary Rd., Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August Lodge Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.