We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August Lodge Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Save
You added August Lodge Cooperstown to your Saves list
259 Seminary Rd., Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I recently went to the August Lodge in Cooperstown,NY and we loved every minute of this place! We recently went to The Whiteface Lodge in Lake Placid and I think the August Lodge was just as good, if not better then the Whiteface Lodge, at less then a third of the price. The lodge sits on top of a very large hill and the views are beautiful,The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The manager was very nice and helpful. I would love to go back there again, maybe in the fall. If you go to Cooperstown and want a lovely place to stay this is it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the fantastic view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We arrived very late and were the only guests that evening. Manager was cordial. No breakfast served and a bit further away from the Baseball Hall of Fame than we thought, but nice facility with beautiful views.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

One assumes the experience with August Lodge very much changes with the season particularly when that season is “baseball”. If you are planning an autumn trip, the property rewards the booking. The pristine hotel sits with some majesty on a mild hill separated by two sweeping turns from the main road. For city-dwellers the silence of the place is broken only by natural sounds from the surrounding woods. For families playing at Cooperstown Dream Park, this off-the-beaten path location is within walking (not that you would) distance; however, for Hall of Fame and other museum goers, you do still have another 10 minutes drive to get to Cooperstown proper. For people looking to sit quietly on a porch, the experience is world class with its Adirondack chairs and sweeping views. For people not good with stairs or looking for amenities such as gyms or even running paths or for those who would like to be within walking distance of bars, restaurants, museums or other attractions, there will be disappointment. While your satisfaction with the facility and the location depend on your timing and reason for going, the service does not - the owners are also the staff and are unfailing friendly and helpful. In short, as long as your needs fit well with what the hotel have to offer, you will really enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I visited Coopers Town for the weekend and decided to stay at this lodge instead of a chain hotel/motel, and I must say this place far exceeded our expectations. The room was extremely clean and very huge! The mattress and pillows were so very comfortable. It's the best we have ever slept on including our own at home. The sheets and comforters were soft and smelled really good. The bathroom was big and roomy with big lotion, shampoo, soap and body wash. The towels too was very soft and absorbent. The owners of this hotel ( I believe his name is Steve and Jamie) has left nothing to chance. There is a small fridge, two burner electric stove, toaster, microwave oven, pots, utensils, cups, plates; everything you will need to fix a small meal. Great for families and even couples. There is a spa but we did not use it. The hotel is well decorated and the views from the patio, which each room has, was out of this world or spectacular. Steve, greeted us upon arrival with his dog, which we thought was a very gracious thing to do. Oops, I forgot- you get a Free continental breakfast which consist of some delicious muffins, lots of cereal, fresh apples, yogurt ,healthy cereal bars and of course tea, juices, coffee and milk. There is an outdoor swimming pool, which was closed due to the winter and also a BBQ grill. There is also a very cosy/romantic breakfast area. The front desk clerk Christine, was very courteous, friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough great things about this place. I know we will be staying there again on our next trip to Coopers Town, which will be in the summer, with our kids. This place is great for families and couples alike. The hotel was not full when we arrived we were given a free upgrade. Thank you Steve!!!!!

Room Tip: This hotel in only minutes away from Coopers Town and perfect for relaxation. It is 100% better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

You can see nature in all of its stunning glory. The woods and mountain top are so beautiful. We had a great time with good company and we couldn’t have asked for more. The rooms and amenities were excellent and so was the continental breakfast. Thank you for everything, hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very clean. Very pretty, sitting on the side of a hill. Had a fire pit outside and we did smores! Played on the lawn. Really felt like home. Beds very comfy. Close to a supermarket, and we bought groceries and grilled most nights to keep costs down. Close to cooperstown as well. They had continental breakfast which was ok. Muffins, cereal, yogurt sort of thing. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The lodge and its grounds are immaculately clean; the staff is extremely helpful; the quiet bucolic location and the valley views in Oct. were gorgeous! Who could ask for more!
J.H. Walpole, MA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Address: 259 Seminary Rd., Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August Lodge Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.