We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4758 State Highway 28, Hartwick, NY 13326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
GreenLeadersSilver level
Methuen, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow- Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2007. We absolutely loved it! The furnishings were modern, stylish and comfortable. The room was clean and spacious. There were a ton of pillows on the king-sized bed, all labeled (on the pillowcase) with soft or firm...loved that! Bathroom was really nice and large. I'm thoroughly confused by the negative reviews posted, the rate we got was $85, which I feel was a great value for how nice the room/hotel was. The only negative thing I could possible say about our room was the tv was kind of fuzzy, making it hard to read text on the screen. But, that is not a big deal at all.

The complimentary continental breakfast was fabulous- warm cinnamon rolls, danish, fruit, oatmeal, 4 types of cereal, juice, 2 types of milk (labeled). All in a comfortable and bright great room.

We will DEFINITELY stay here again the next time we are in Cooperstown.

  • Liked — Room size, decor, breakfast, friendly staff, amenities in room
  • Disliked — TV was fuzzy
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    109
    50
    13
    10
See reviews for
101
68
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, QC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Room was clean, beds are comfortable. Staff were very friendly. We will definitely go back

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soxfan4396
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

My family attempted to stay at this hotel over Labor Day weekend. Things started out great until we realized in the early evening that the shower curtain rod was about to fall off the wall and take some of the sheet rock with it. Because of the design of the shower curtain (the kind that bows out in the middle) having it loose from the wall made it hang down toward the floor so that there was no way to shut the shower curtain...meaning you couldn't use the shower without the water spraying everywhere. My husband tried, however he spent the whole time standing like the Statue of Liberty holding the curtain partially shut.
We contacted the front desk immediately on this and since there was no manager the girl at the desk (who seemed to be the only person on duty in the whole place) called the manager on the phone. He advised her that the curtain rod was probably off it's track and simply needed adjusting. My husband offered to talk to the manager directly, but the desk girl didn't feel it was necessary. We had her come and look at it and showed her that the problem was bigger the manager thought. After she called her manager again, the offer was to give us a smaller room (we had a jr. suite) for the night and "maybe" the curtain rod could be fixed later that night or the next day. There was no guarantee we'd get that suite or any other for the next night. Since we were a party of 4 (2 adults and 2 very large teenage boys) we really needed the extra room that the suite afforded us.
We felt that since we were paying $209 a night for the room a little more effort could have been made to at least attempt to fix it immediately or to put us in a comparable room. Neither of which were offered as options. So we checked out without staying over at all. At least the kids got to use the pool.
Don't bother with this place...there are plenty of options in and around Cooperstown for much less money. We normally stick with the Marriott brand and this kind of thing would NEVER happen in one of their locations!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

not impressed. front staff- fine, friendly. Rooms - very average. first room we were given smelled entirely of smoke- given new room without problem. This is only hotel i can remember that makes you sign wavers that you wont smoke in hotel or will be fined 450 bucks and of course the room we were given had smoke permeating throughout.
had internet for free- a plus. old bathroom, old fixtures., no inroom
safe, limited cable choices to name a few annoyances. pool was packed
in the evening--most people ive ever seen in a pool that (small) size
with little seating. Breakfast- fine.. about what you would expect for free breakfast- nothing more and seating again tight. 5-10 minute
drive into town. We will return to cooperstown - not to this holiday inn- especially at the charged prices- even midweek quite expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Very nice, very clean, great breakfast, location, and staff! Came back to warm chocolate chip cookies waiting for us one night! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Liked everything especially breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Cooperstown for one night in July. The hotel met or exceeded my expectations in all areas. Service was great and the room was spacious, clean, and well-stocked with not only the standard linens and toiletries but also plenty of cups, bowls, and utensils.

The room was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, DVD/VHS player, free internet, and had a very spacious work area. The continental breakfast buffet had a good variety of options and was well-stocked.

Make no mistake, they charge a premium room rate at this property, but they also deliver on all counts. Certainly a worthwhile stay, especially when traveling with family.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This hotel is about three miles from the Baseball Hall of Fame, but well worth the drive. It was very clean and well kept. The bathroom was spotless. The room was very well sized for a family of four (with two teen sons). There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room, which comes in handy for late night snacks and breakfast foods. The television was a nice size for the room, with lots of cable choices. The pool was above average size, with a hot tub available. Small fitness room, however. The staff was terrific and very accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was well stocked, with four kinds of cereals, bagels, muffins, fruits, oatmeal, yogurt, and lots of hot, good coffee in a centrally located, comfortable room with a flat screen tv. I would definitely go back to this hotel!@

  • Liked — terrific room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown

Address: 4758 State Highway 28, Hartwick, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express is located minutes from the heart of the historic village of Cooperstown, New York on State Highway 28. This places the hotel in close proximity to all the businesses and attractions of this wonderful community. We are a 100% Non-Smoking hotel. Visiting Our Universities? The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers great value to those visiting our fine educational facilities. SUNY Oneonta & Hartwick College are just moments away. A Great Business Location! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is well located to fine companies such as Bassett Hospital, Brewery Ommegang, Wal-Mart, Fox Hospital, Clark Foundation and many others. The hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Great for a Vacation Visit! The amenities of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and central location makes it the perfect place when vacationing. Whether you are attending Cooperstown Dreams Park, Cooperstown All Star Village, Cooperstown Baseball World, Cooperstown Diamonds, The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Howe Caverns, Ommegang Brewery, Cooperstown Brewery, Fenimore Art Museum, Farmers Museum, Fly Creek Cider Mill, Bear Pond Winery or many other local attractions, we are close to it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
Holiday Inn Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.