We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith's Colonial Motel

Smith's Colonial Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smith's Colonial Motel
23085 State Highway 97, Hancock, NY 13783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hancock
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Travelled to the Hancock, New York area for our niece's wedding. Most of the lodging required two nights stays and we only needed one night. My sister-in-law found Smith's Colonial Motel on the internet. We took a chance and were very pleasantly surprised. It was clean and modern with a rustic wood feel.. The owners were very nice and meeting their dog, Abby a special treat. The views were super and it provided what we needed. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only spent one night at the Colonial Motel, but we were so pleased. It was incredibly clean and cute. Anyone passing through will enjoy and the owners were too sweet!!! The area is beautiful and really an escape from city life. We will definitely will stop again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My son was visiing his girl friend at camp and needed a place to stay . I called around and the people at the smith colonial were the nicest ! My son loved the motel said it was clean and updated . Highly recommend staying there !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were heading back to Long Island from Niagara Falls. There was a big snowstorm and the roads were really bad so we decided to spend one more night upstate. We ate lunch at the Circle E Diner and this place was recommended to us. It was exactly what we needed. Nothing fancy but clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Hancock is a lovely town. It was my first time there and I really enjoyed it. The man who runs this place with his family (I don't remember his name) was very nice, friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Smith's Colonial Motel to anyone staying in Hancock, NY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I would suggest that if you are flyfishing any part of the UpperDelaware River system this is the place to stay. Very clean, inexpensive, quiet and close to the rivers. Better accommodation than in Roscoe or Deposit. One drawback is that restaurants in Hancock Don't come close to those in Roscoe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really was surprised at how much I liked this place. We needed a place to stay while we attended a wedding nearby. The hosts couldn't have been nicer and the room was old timey but actually everything was new and fresh and very clean with flat screen and wireless and little fridge. We stayed in room 11 which had a lovely view of meadow and river. I would stay there again and just relax and do some river things or hiking. The road is nearby so it was a little noisy that Saturday night with cars going by but I didn't mind and slept very well. Thank you Trudy!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for a night after leaving another local Inn which was dirty, badly maintained and expensive; What a great move!

This is a small roadside motel very close to Hancock NY and various camps. New owners who are very pleasant and helpful. Perfect place for a visit to the area. Comfortable bed, knotty pine interior, adequate bathroom, good functioning A/C, Flat screen TV and a refrigerator. Really nice sunny room with a great view of the river out the back.
Everything is immaculate, 7 minutes to town; they even have a phone in the room for local calls and excellent wireless internet (which is not a given in these parts)

Perfect for what it is and all you really need

Room Tip: All rooms in a line with same exposure; I doubt there is a bad room in the place. Some have one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith's Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith's Colonial Motel

Address: 23085 State Highway 97, Hancock, NY 13783
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hancock
Also Known As:
Smith`s Colonial Hotel Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith's Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smith's Colonial Motel to your Saves list