We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and crabcakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland's Restaurant & Marina

Oakland's Restaurant & Marina
7 Dune Rd., Hampton Bays, NY 11946
+1 631-728-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view and crabcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We loved our lunch so much we went back the next day and had the exact same things--crabcake appetizers (best anywhere) and lobster rolls. Sat outside and enjoyed beautiful panoramic view of the Bay. Only thing we didn't enjoy was crabby reception by a woman up front who insisted it was too wet for us to sit outside (it had recently rained) and that it was going to rain again any minute. Luckily, I'm married to a stubborn man, who tested the seats (they were dry) and dried off the table himself. Later our waitress explained that they were all still peeved by a woman who'd insisted on sitting outside DURING the rain and then complained because the umbrella was dripping on her. Also, some other kook had just tried to hack away at the hyacinths with her car keys!!!?? At any rate, we got a much nicer greeting the next day and the food was still great.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lobster !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

It was a pretty quiet night so we almost didn't go in but I am glad we did. I had a 2lb lobster for $43 and it was delicious. We had various dishes and everyone was happy. The food was fresh and the service is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Can't beat the location, beautiful views. Reliably good seafood. Never let me down. No surprises .Make reservations, waits can be long

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A MEAL WITH A VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This restaurant is a long way from Broadway, that is for sure, but it has a great view and pretty good food. The service we had the day we were there was a little "iffy", but we were told that was the last week-end it would be open and would be closed for the season. We enjoyed the meal and the view but would probably not return our next time to New York City. It is just too far out for the tourist, so we are sure it is mostly local clients, and they don't return unless the food is good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND GREAT VIEW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend took us here while he was showing us the "rural area" of New York City. We enjoyed the food but the service left a bit to be desired. It was the last week-end the restaurant would be open for the season, so this may have been part of the problem. The view was just great and would would recommend it on that base alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland's Restaurant & Marina also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Oakland's Restaurant & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland's Restaurant & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.