We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland's Restaurant & Marina

Oakland's Restaurant & Marina
7 Dune Rd., Hampton Bays, NY 11946
631-728-6900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great destination for anyone who just wants to take a ride "out east" to look at beautiful homes and see the ocean. Food is as good as the view and hospitable staff. Easy access handicapped ramp was useful for friend with walker. Good (diverse) menu - appetizers through dessert. Very pleased overall!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous anytime of the year!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a fantastick venue for any event, for a nice dinner or for drinks and dancing on the outside deck with the resident bartender Sean (Alias MICK)
This is on the Infamous Shinnecock Inlet and has amazing Ocean, Bay and inlet views. The sunsets are amazing!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasteless lobster; lovely service & great location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were visiting the beach across the street and decided to have lunch at this established seafood restaurant. My girlfriend had a lovely salad. I splurged on a lobster roll. The food took some time to come out, but we were sharing a sparkling Rose. The wine was fairly priced but unusually sweet. My biggest disappointment was when I took the first bite of the lobster roll. The seasoning was non-exsistent and the meat not very sweet. The texture was fine. The wait staff was friendly and we got some great photos looking out the window to the porch. They had great matches, and I'm still using the match books.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraza
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“What a great view..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great view of the ocean, the bay and the harbor. The interior is pretty nice too. If only they would be able to cook fish fitting the view. My tasteless filet was nicely presented, in a very thin tasty broth surrounded by tasteless broccoli straight out of the water. My partners fish was lacking taste too. For the prices charged I would have expected more!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Magnificent Beach & Sunsets, Good Food too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Oakland's has outside tables overlooking their marina and the beach. The views from the outdoor tables on a nice day is something you don't want to miss. The service is attentive. The food is fine, but on the expensive side due in part to the high cost of water front real estate in the Hamptons.

They had a very good band when we were there (Friday of Labor Day weekend) to kick things into high gear for the last weekend of the summer. This is a good place to go with a group of friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland's Restaurant & Marina also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Oakland's Restaurant & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland's Restaurant & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.