We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gourmet food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar

Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar
26 W Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
+1 631-723-2626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 67 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Squiretown Road
Transit: The LIRR Hampton Bays station is a minute's walk from Squiretown, directly across the street.
Description: Welcome to Squiretown Restaurant + Bar, a modern American bistro. We offer raw bar, beautiful salads, a wide array of appetizers, delicious sandwiches, steaks, fresh fish and pasta dishes. Our relaxing 50 seat dining room offers great ambience and service, while the 16 seat bar entertains guests with a wide selection of beers, plenty of space, and refreshing cocktails. Wines from around the world are offered, with many under $40. Everyone is welcome at Squiretown, where you can feel comfortable while enjoying great food with friends, family, business associates, or a date!
Sandy, Oregon
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very friendly and awesome food. Formal dining. A great place to bring someone special on a special day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Down the tubes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Used to be one of our favorites. Not sure what happened. Food is maybe OK ? The last waiter killed it.
Told him we had a movie to go to ,we had ordered the easiest/fastest items and he just blew it off. Had to track him down! Not even a busy night.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My new local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Friday night we were tired of the same old places, anywhere from Brigehampton to Westhampton. Decided to try Squiretown based upon a friends recommendation. Read the reviews on Tripadvisor, they were good but mixed. Restaurant was not crowded, but it's December in the Hamptons and we were grateful. Tim was our waiter; engaging, knowledgeable and very pleasant. I had the crab cakes appetizer then the strip steak; both were perfect. My wife had the grilled shrimp appetizer and duck breast; both also perfect. Reasonably priced, excellent food, terrific service. What more could we have asked for? Can't wait to go back, hope it's as good. If so, I'll write Tripadvisor again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked this for our first night in the Hamptons and with superstore Sandy passing through the state earlier in the week we didn't know what to expect. Well what a great surprise. The staff were all friendly, attentive and in good cheer despite the week they had experienced because of the storm. The restaurant had luckily kept power all week. We ate early at 7.30 anticipating jet lag (which we had). My steak au poivre and mash was delicious, best in a long time, huge and defeated me and my husbands Tuna was excellent too. Great wine list with local wines available. A bit pricey but probably normal for the area. Worth every penny. I wish I could have squeezed in Dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Food was alright, but the service was SO SLOW!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went with another couple to have dinner on a Saturday night. The restaurant had a decent crowd, but overall was not especially busy. The food was fine, but it was difficult for them to accommodate a soy allergy. The service was really bad. We sat at 7:30 and it took an hour to get our apps and 2 hours before we had our entrees. Even a drink from the bar took a good 15-20 minutes. The restaurant had a comfortable atmosphere and as noted above the food was fine. This place always seemed busy during the summer season, but based on the service tonight I cannot say we will go back anytime soon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squiretown Restaurnt & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.