We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit during shoulder season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hampton Maid

The Hampton Maid
259 East Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
631-728-4166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely visit during shoulder season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The grounds here are stunning.
The breakfast was good and the staff helpful.
We stayed in a room on the upper floor in the side of the windmill.
It was quite at night and a short drive from attractions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK, Herts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location is OK, you'll be about 20min drive from beaches and 15min walk from marinas in Hampton Bays. The rooms are located in cabins on the well kept grounds with decking areas to sit out on and pine forest around. There's a small pool, which I haven't used, so can't comment on that, but nothing spectacular from what I could see. Our room was large, with a reasonable size bathroom but finish throughout the room isn't nice...expect pine cladding and cheap furniture and bathroom was tired too (sink rusty), the shower door was flimsy and eventually got broken by cleaners on the second day of our stay and, despite the fact that they said the maintenance was notified, it wasn't fixed by the evening. We've found that our room was clean but there was musty smell there all the time, almost mould like.The room wasn't well soundproofed either, we could hear our neighbours and their TV each morning. On the upside, beds were comfy and bed linen and towels of good quality. All in all though, would never go back as it was $325 a night for a $150 experience in terms of quality of the accommodation. Breakfast was good, but you need to pre-book the table at night for the next morning if you can, or it can be half an hour wait, even if you're a guest...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent prix fix breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Considering the fact that the morning prior we want to a diner and paid more for less quality food, I didn't mind paying $22.50 per person, the freshness was well worth it, great service, choice of fresh berries or watermelon salad, I had the eggs Benedict which was made with real Canadian bacon and homemade hollandaise, the eggs were so fresh with dark yokes...even the juice was delicious, the rest of my party had the Hamptons sampler, everything cooked perfectly, even a big teapot and coffee pot at the table!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely find in quiet Hamptons hamlet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have been several times to this hotel and love it, it is tucked away and although just off the highway it feels very isolated, the rooms are lovely, large and airy. The pool area is very inviting with a shady lounge area for hanging out or reading etc. The breakfast at the restaurants are outstanding with homemade muffins etc. A quick ride to the beach and several restaurants are right near the hotel so it makes for a great summer retreat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Country Inn with a special treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Hampton Maid is what us locals call breakfast. When you sit in the charming dinning room you will be amazes at the daily specials. They will blow your soks off! Also do not forget to check out the Mais store for some one of a kind shopping.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hampton Maid also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to The Hampton Maid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hampton Maid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.