We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Terrace Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean View Terrace Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Terrace Motel
285 E Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Ocean View Terrace for 3 nights in August. The room we had was an efficiency unit which was perfect for cooking breakfast etc. Had all the pots & pans, utensils for the limited cooking we did. It also had a small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. The beds were comfortable and the unit was very clean. Penny and the other staff gave us many great suggestions on things to do during our stay. The hotel is situated close to many beaches, restaurants, and attractions but you will need a car. One notable beach we spent the day at was called Cooper's Beach. This beach is one of the most gorgeous beaches I have been to. The parking is a little pricey ($40) but worth even cent. Just the drive there is unbelievable. The "summer" homes along Gin Lane are something to behold. We drove out to Montauk one day as well. The highway is very busy though. Do take time along the way to stop at "Yesterdays Treasures"...unbelievable!
The highway in front of the motel can be a little noisey in the mornings... but not a deal breaker.
Overall an affordable, clean, friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 is an efficiency unit. Has view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were there for 4 days and 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had a one bedroom suite 119 which is facing the swimming pool and the bay. I feel its a little expensive since the rooms are extremely small. There's a jacuzzi in the bathroom but the kitchen and living room is the size of the bathroom. There were 5 of us. Two todllers and three adults. We use the king size bed in the bedroom for two adults and two toddlers. The single pull out couch in the living room was very uncomfortable and when you pull it out, it take most of the room of the living room. It wasn't a comfortable setting. It almost feel like it should've been a studio but they added a wall between the bedroom and the living room. Swimming pool has bugs and the children's play area is full of bugs and spiders....it doesn't look like it has been cleaned for a long time. The frig was not plugged in until we arrived and took a long time to cool off. We had to keep baby's milk we bought from home cold. It was odd since we were told that we can not check in earlier than 11 because they have to clean the room so it would be odd for them to unplug the frig eventhough someone was staying there. I did enjoy the outside deck. It has a nice view of the pool and the bay. You can see the at night. Its nice and peaceful at night. There's mini breakfast with coffee and muffins in the morning. We made breakfast and dinners during our stay. Do bring your own paper towels as they don't supply them. Make sure you get a room that has view of the swimming pool and the bay. There are a long stretch of rooms with limited view.

The owner, Penny, was very helpful and even let us use her bay front beach. There's a swing and some benches to relax but the beach is full of rocks so you can't really do much there with the kids. We enjoyed the beach nearby (2 minutes driving) with the toddlers (2 and 3 years old). It has literally no waves and a nice restaurant on site. The kids had a blast. We took couple trips to Montauk but there was a lot of traffice even on weekdays. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want to go to Montauk (took us 2 hours to get back one day)

One thing I would like to point out is to make sure that you are firm about your reservation. If you have an emergency or want to cancel your reservation, you must do so before 14 days or else you will loose it all. It was not very clear on the website and it will only come up when you are ready to book the reservation. You will loose your money if you want to leave one day early too.

We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the place for family with kids since it has a nice beach without waves nearby. I do miss staying at our favortie motel in Montauk since its more spacious.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms facing the pool and the bay for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have been going to the Hamptons for many years including visits from Montauk to Hampton Bays, Sag Harbor, and Greenport.

We just returned from a "fantastic" vacation experience at the beautiful Ocean View Terrace Motel in Hampton Bays. We had a lovely efficiency unit that included a kitchen area with a toaster, microwave, stove, coffee maker and most importantly, a refrigerator. We also had a very comfortable queen size bed. The unit was airconditioned and had wifi and daily maid service.

Beakutiful property and a clean, nice size pool. The weather was as good as it gets--warm days and comfortable nights. Great dinner dining spots close by

The owners, Penny and Jag met all our needs with a "smile" and they are a wonderful couple.

Who could ask for anything more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

.

Room Tip: Check with Penny on their web site to see wide choice of accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We chose to vacation on Long Island, where we actually live, so our 18 year old could drive out and meet us after getting a few days off from her summer lifeguard job. The Hampton Bays may only be a hour away from our RVC home, but it is a very different and beautiful Long Island. The beaches, notably Cooper and Poxquogue are beautiful, peaceful and provided our family with days of relaxation in the sun and surf. They are within minutes of the hotel as plenty of restaurants. The restaurants are plentiful and the food, especially the seafood, is delicious. Penny, the owner of Ocean View Terrace Motel, is so friendly and nice and makes you feel like a visiting relative to her home. She provides helpful suggestions and even offered to lend us beach chairs and an umbrella. We stayed in Room 112 which is a 2 bedroom suite. Our master bedroom was comfortable and opened to a balcony. Our teenager children had a comfortable room with twin beds The living area was comfortable and the mini kitchen was ideal for our needs. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and we enjoyed a four night stay. The pool is also clean and relaxing and wonderful to return to after a day at the beach. We normally stay in Hiltons by saving points. Ocean View is not a hotel but an old fashioned family friendly motel that gives us normal "folk" an opportunity to vacation in the Hamptons.

Room Tip: My husband doesn't like noise and was bothered by the cars going by on the road in Room 112. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I just got back from my holidays and gotta write a review for the Ocean View. Penny, thanks for the warm reception and for looking after me.
The property is indeed well located, lovely view of the bay, nice pool, which is not busy at all, I for one also opted for the beach. I just read a recent review and someone mention the rooms are small? Really, where??? At least my room 109 was specious enough there were 2 queen beds and still a lot of room to move around. It's not a luxurious hotel, but for the picture you can see that, but it's clean and I felt safe. For the gentleman that mention moths and bugs...really? What do expect when you are in a place by the sea with so much green around like the Hamptons?
I did not see any bugs, but I kept my door closed.
The hotel is about 4 miles from the village and it is so convenient, on saturday I took a taxi to the village as I wanted to drink and it's US$ 25...money well spent...
I will for sure return to the Hamptons and if staying in Southampton I will no doubt chose the Ocean View Terrace.... it's a enjoyable stay and I did stay 7 nights there.
Again, thanks Penny .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Just finished a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean with views either on the large garden or over onto to the beautiful bay. This hotel was a pleasure to have stayed in, a relaxing break from the big city. Definitely a must-go, and when we come again Ocean View Terrace is where we're booking :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are looking for caviar dreams in the Hamptons -- this isn't it. But for a very well-run, clean and enjoyable motel near beaches, restaurants and marinas, then this will nicely fill the bill. The proprietress, Penny, is an unstoppable bundle of energy-- overseeing every detail of the motel and her attention to detail shows. The rooms are clean and the property is beautifully landscaped with a pleasant pool that overlooks the Bay if you look past Montauk Highway! The rooms are not cheap but for the Hamptons, they are on the affordable side. We have stayed in the 2 room suite (112)which has its own nice private deck -- perfect for families or a girls' weekend -- and a room overlooking the pool (115)which has the best view. All in all it is a great choice if you do not yet have your own piece of Hampton Hedge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean View Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Terrace Motel

Address: 285 E Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Shinnecock Bay, our location is just minutes from Southampton Village. We have spacious grounds with picnic tables and barbecue grills, a playground of swings and slides and a sandbox by our private beach for the children. Our accommodations feature air-conditioning and heating, wall to wall carpeting, private bath with all amenities including hair dryer, refrigerator, in room coffee, flat screen cable TV and free wifi. Our deluxe efficiencies are fully equipped. Our suites have full kitchens. Some suites have a Jacuzzi and/or fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Terrace Hotel Hampton Bays
Ocean View Terrace Motel Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.