We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered! Amazing romantic escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
Save
You added The Black Sheep Inn to your Saves list
8329 Pleasant Valley Road, Hammondsport, NY 14840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ecuador
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered! Amazing romantic escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Great beds, great showers, amazing service and above all we were utterly impressed by the amount of heart and soul that Deb and Marc put into this place. Thank goodness they fell in love with this octagonal piece of New York's history and restored it.

Regarding eating in the area: We unfortunately could not find a restaurant in Hammondsport open after 8:30 pm on a Tuesday night ( I think this was still off-season) and we were hungry! Immediately Debbie offered to 'whip something up' , and served a truly delightful meal, w/o previous 'dinner for two' reservation. They did not seem to mind that we brought our own beers and snacks ...and even offered the use of the fridge in their reception area to keep the beers cold.

I highly recommend this B&B, wish we could have stayed longer. They were working on getting an on site yoga/ massage area set up, and my husband and I look forward to returning to see their progress.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
95
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The rooms were spacious and quiet with an eclectic decor that blended with the character of this architecturally unique home. Debbie and Marc go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. Deb's breakfasts are both delicious and imaginative. The Black Sheep inn located on the sleepy side of a sleepy town is the perfect part of a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

we loved this place!!!!!! it was perfect for us!! very eclectic!!!! it was the perfect place to come back to after a long day of drinking wine!!! very comfortable bed!! love it!! marc and deb are so friendly and such wonderful cooks:) it was just beautiful and relaxing and i can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Our stay at the Black Sheep Inn was fantastic... Debbie and Marc gave us a personal tour of the house when we arrived and then we enjoyed a bottle of the local Pear Champagne and relaxed in the courtyard. It just got better from there.... Breakfast has a whole new meaning at the Black Sheep Inn, the organic creations from Debbie's kitchen were amazing and our intimate 5-course dinner for 2 in the dining room was devine!! Debbie and Marc know how to make you feel welcome, we left with 2 new friends we hope to visit again, not just 'the inkeepers'. Deb and Marc directed us to all the touring we desired, and organized a lovely massage under the trees and a hot air balloon ride. This was my 1st experience at a B&B and I would venture to guess, it would be difficult to find another that has such quality and service. The guest rooms were beautiful and our bed was so comfortable, it was difficult to want to get out of it in the morning! We will definately be back.
C&K - Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Nothing could have made our stay in the Finger Lakes more perfect until we met Deb and Marc, the owners. The inn was not only more beautiful than imagined, but their knowledge of the area, hospitality, and interest in the locally sustainable food culture (not to mention the cooking) was unsurpassed!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at The Black Sheep Inn in May and was very impressed. Since there were mixed reviews of the Inn, I had to find out for myself. The Inn has a strict 2-night minimum on weekends, but Debbie bent the rules for me for a one-night stay. I found Debbie and Marc to be gracious and accommodating, and they had a good knowledge of the area. The Wood room had a very comfortable bed, and I did not miss the TV. The decor was Craftsman-esque and the colors they chose were warm and soothing. Breakfast was an adventure for the tastebuds — a Mexican strata with a baked rhubarb side. A spicy breakfast choice, but with nice heat. Debbie brought out coffee for me as I read and enjoyed the quiet sunrise on the back terrace.
I will return again — for 2 nights AND with my wife. The Black Sheep Inn is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Every time we travel to this area, we make sure to stay at the Black Sheep Inn. That wasn't always the case, as we stayed in a couple of so so motels and overly flowery B&B's previously, but since we found the Black Sheep Inn, we love staying here.

Debbie and Marc have great personalities that compliment their well appointed Inn. Whenever we arrive, be it late at night or early afternoon, we are greeted by a big smile and warm conversation. The Inn is beautifully decorated with earth tones and William Morris Arts and Crafts reproduction wall prints. The furnishings are an eclectic mix of local antiques which keeps it grounded in the local design vernacular. It is not overly flowery or frilly, and there are no lace doilies! Debbie and Marc paid particular attention to the decor and bedding in each room. The adjoining baths are well appointed with their marble/tile showers, and the lush bath robes are cozy after a shower. The outside patio is beautiful when the weather is cooperating, and the fire is romantic.

Debbie uses local organically grown food when preparing meals. Breakfast has always been something deliciously different for each of our 6 visits, although this past year was one of the best. (We have stayed once in Aug, twice in September, and three times in early May.) During one visit, we celebrated my husband's birthday and had one of Debbie's scrumptious dinners. (something not to miss!) But if you are looking for your average meal or fast food, just head into Hammondsport or Bath.

We are hoping to rent most of the Inn next year for a family gathering. My husband and I have traveled around the country and Italy staying in B&B's, and I must say, The Black Sheep Inn is at the top of places we have stayed for style, comfort, and hospitality. My husband and I especially enjoy the absence of tv, although if you really have the need, just bring along your laptop as the inn has wifi and you could just stream your favorite shows. We have since recommended this inn to several friends and have made a few new ones during our stays.

Its been a long time coming, but I had to write this review after reading some of the others that didn't enjoy the Inn. I will say this, if you are looking for a hotel or a motel atmosphere, don't stay at the Black Sheep Inn. You won't ever be happy here, as Debbie and Marc aren't servants, they are pleasant innkeepers. When staying, be sure to ask for suggestions for dining, shopping, and wineries, as Debbie and Marc are a wealth of information!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Road, Hammondsport, NY 14840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.