We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Sheep Inn
8329 Pleasant Valley Road, Hammondsport, NY 14840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Came to this INN on a Friday night after eating at a restaurant that the owner had suggested, got food poisoning 1 hour after we checked into the hotel and had to leave and drive 2 1/2 hours back home (very sick). In all the mayhem, we accidentally forgot to leave the room key with the owner and took it home. The owner not only charged us the full $330 for a 1 night stay, but also an additional $30 for the key (which we told her we would mail back immediately). And the room wasn't anything special either, very ordinary. I understand people need to make a living, but in my opinion, she should have had a little compassion and only charged us half of the fee and most definitely not an extra charge for the room key...given that we were only there for 1 hour. Huge waste of time and money. 5 thumbs down. Never again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose this Inn again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
It's unfortunate that these guests had a bad experience at a local restaurant, which is a rare occurrence around here. This guest and her companion had eaten before they arrived at our Inn, and the restaurant they selected is not one that we usually recommend to our guests. The one we did recommend, (and made a reservation for them), they chose not to visit. Our recommendations are the result of feedback from hundreds of guests over the course of time, which is the most reliable method. As for the charge for the room, the only additional amount on this guests bill was for the unreturned key, which is more of a deposit until the key is returned. This $30 key deposit was only assessed when the guests didn't return that evening and didn't contact us to advise us of any problem, we had to assume that the keys would not be returned. We placed several calls to the guests that went unanswered, and as with all of our guests, we were concerned when they didn't return to the Inn that night. Regarding the room rate, the guests knew the rate when they booked the room, and when you spend several hours in the room and shower in the bathroom before you go out for the evening, we anticipate that you will return that evening, unless you tell us otherwise.

The most interesting part of this story is that this guest finally called us back 5 days later and informed us what had happened. When asked if he had called the restaurant, he replied that he had not and had no plans to do so. As of this date, more than a week after their stay, we still have not been able to refund the key deposit because we have not yet received the keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    7
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
84
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our Labor Day weekend at The Black Sheep Inn was relaxing, comfortable and welcoming. We were hosted by Marc and Debbie, two amazing innkeepers and caring people. The work they have done in fixing up their inn to be a home-away-from-home for their guests is fabulous. And, Debbie's gourmet breakfasts are without equal.

I highly recommend that anyone traveling to Lake Keuka make staying at The Black Sheep Inn part of their trip plans.

Room Tip: For lots of space and a lovely view of the backyard grounds and the fire pit stay in the Pleasant Va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We first visited the Black Sheep in 2008 and had such a wonderful visit that we were happy to return with our teenage daughter for 4 nights this summer (2012).
The hosts, rooms, breakfasts and grounds were just as lovely as 4 years ago. All the positive descriptions of the Inn and it's rooms in the other reviews are accurate, so I won't repeat them here...
We arranged for dinner at the Inn on our night of arrival since it is a long drive for us. It was lovely, the starters were almost too good, it was hard to save room for the main course!
One evening we enjoyed a campfire and some conversation with some very nice guests, there was even an invitation for s'mores!
But please note, this is also a property where you can easily maintain your privacy if you would like, breakfast time can be graciously arranged to meet your schedule for the day.
We wanted some cooking lessons from a pro, so Debbie arranged a "farm to table" cooking class for us that was so informative and fun that I would like to go back for more. The focus was on dishes that would be easy for our daughter to prepare at university, but I also learned some good tips, too.
The chalkboard on the table in the breakfast room is small, but Marc & Debbie have some very helpful notes there. We spent a morning in Bath, NY (a short drive away) touring an original Louis Comfort Tiffany interior and a charming Farmer's Market . We didn't find this information anywhere else in all the tourist literature. We appreciate their knowledge of the area as well as their professionally managed property.
I am enjoying the shopping tote I bought at the Inn from one of their local artisans who recycles feedbags, it is fun to have a useful souvenir from such a fine place. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at The Black Sheep Inn when our daughter was graduating from Alfred University, and we swore we wanted to go back. Debbie and Mark are "uber"-hosts. The rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts are a really special treat. Everything was as we remembered after a few intervening years, and the heavy rain on the roof added to the cozy atmosphere. We had a very enjoyable breakfast with another couple from western NY, and even bought a pair of the crocks Debbie used to make her dish in. It's relaxing; it's friendly, and there's always good company. We stayed in the Pleasant Valley Room - spacious and a wonderful shower! I only regret that we spent so much time at dinner and didn't have a chance to sit out on the patio and share some of the wine we were buying on the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Black Sheep is a beautifully renovated huge victorian house, with large rooms and high ceilings, on a country road about 1/2 mile outside town. Very nice baths, and a pretty outdoor patio. The innkeepers are extremely friendly and helpful, and steered us away from a poor dinner reservation we had made to two places we really enjoyed. We really enjoyed the creative breakfasts made with local ingredients, although if you're limited in your culinary requirements to standard fare like bacon and eggs, or french toast, you may be disappointed. Nice location for cycling, either into town and around the lake (to the east side, where it's less hilly), or out of town, up a hill, and into the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin Dam
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at our first B@B this past weekend (after a lifetime of being leary of them) and just have to conclude that Marc @ Debbie at the Black Sheep Inn are the perfect hosts! From the moment we arrived they did nothing but try in any way they could to make our stay as pleasent as they could help it to be.......... well mission accomplished! The rooms were clean and beautiful, breakfast was original and delicious, the company they provided was fun and interesting, and the whole experiance was one of feeling welcome, and getting a chance for a LOT of relaxation!
Thank you Marc @ Debbie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We'd agree with others' glowing reviews regarding the beauty, cleanliness, and attention to detail at this B&B. It was well-appointed and well-taken care of. However, staying with Debbie and Marc is like staying at your parents' house for the weekend. They decide what you'll eat for breakfast and how much. Cocktails are allowed in designated areas only -- not your room -- and are monitored by them. It's a very formal environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debmychef, Owner at The Black Sheep Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very proud to offer our guests a farm to table experience featuring organic products from our gardens or local farms. We prepare our indulgent breakfasts fresh everyday, and plate them up hot before we serve them for you to enjoy. We are not a restaurant where you can order off of a menu, we are a bed and breakfast, and with a creative chef you may get to try something new and delicious. But If you are looking for a breakfast buffet, you won't find it here, we leave that to the national chains. We also happily accommodate any dietary restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Sheep Inn

Address: 8329 Pleasant Valley Road, Hammondsport, NY 14840
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Sheep Inn and Spa located in the picturesque Wine Country of New York’s Finger Lakes Region offers you a tranquil setting from which you can explore the many unique experiences awaiting you here in the Finger Lakes..Welcome to the Black Sheep Inn an historic Octagon house lovingly restored with style, grace and charm. Your Finger Lakes experience begins here in Hammondsport, voted by Budget Travel as the “2012 Coolest Small Town in America.” Hammondsport sits at the southern tip of Keuka Lake, centrally located to the many award-winning wineries, micro-breweries, local cheese producers and a tremendous selection of cultural and outdoor activities. No need to pack and un-pack in several places, we are just a short scenic drive to everywhere you want to go!Open all year long, the Black Sheep Inn and Spa is open whenever you need to relax, rejuvenate and refresh. We offer distinctive Spa services to ensure an unforgettable massage experience. Our focus is your comfort, from our emphasis on local & seasonal organic ingredients, to our hand crafted soaps and spa products.You may choose to set out on a hike on the nearby Finger Lakes Trail, or take in one of the many waterfalls within a short drive from the Black Sheep Inn. There are also miles of scenic country roads to explore as you bike from one charming small town to another. Keuka Lake offers a cool, refreshing opportunity for a swim, kayaking, or just spectacular views.At the Black Sheep Inn, an historic Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast, choose from one of our 5 guest rooms, each featuring its own unique design & style and private bath featuring lush towels and monogrammed robes: ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Black Sheep Inn to your Saves list