We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Switzerland Inn

The Switzerland Inn
14109 Keuka Village Rd, Hammondsport, NY 14840
(607) 292-6927
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Hammondsport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We enjoyed a nice dinner on the deck with a beautiful sunset. We did have to wait an hour, so would highly recommend .taking a reservation. I had a Cobb salad which was very good. My husband had a fish fry which was okay. They forgot his Cole slaw and by the time the waitress came to check on us, we were done with our meals. Service was a little slow, but with the great view, we didn't mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view and average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a very popular restaurant because of the waterfront location, and the friendly service of the wait staff. We chose to sit inside and were seated quickly, but could still enjoy a spectacular sunset. The food is average and you would do well sticking with menu items that have to be fresh, such as fish fry and hamburgers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If all you want is a view of the lake, pack a picnic! To save a wait we agreed to sit inside since the hostess said it was "cool temps". It was VERY HOT even at 7 pm. We said all we wanted was a view of the lake, they seated us in the middle of the restaurant. The floor was lopsided and we felt every step of someone walking by. The food was bland. The margarita was horrible. MUCH better experience at Snug Harbor!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Switz Burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a great spot to watch the activity on the water, have a burger and a beer! There is dining in & out and the crocked floors just add to the ambiance! Reasonably priced, good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food with a great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good food served in an historic building, right on the water. Casual atmosphere, reasonable prices, and a view that is the reason you come to Keuka Lake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Switzerland Inn also viewed

Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Switzerland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Switzerland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.