We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hammondsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast
61 Lake Street, Hammondsport, NY 14840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hammondsport B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Lake and Vine B & B. The house itself is absolutely lovely with art work that is unique and lovely. The common areas are welcoming in every way. We were fortunate enough to have some time on the welcoming porch in perfect fall weather overlooking Carol's well designed garden and fountain. Our two breakfasts' were delicious. We found Carol a gracious hostess who was welcoming and informative on touring the region.

In reading the previous review, there were enough common descriptive elements to know it was the same B & B, however, our experiences with Carol were completely different.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely; just choose between a shared or ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I picked this B&B after reading the wonderful reviews (prior to the one one dated Sept 30...don't believe any word of that stinging review!!) to spend two days with my Mother and sister celebrating my Mother's 70th birthday ( the five finger lake region is on her bucket list). We were warmly welcomed into the home and given a quick tour. The owner of this fine and gorgeous home was fun, informative, and warm. She gave us tons of information since this was our first visit to the area that was right on target for what we were looking to do. We visited the antique stores that she recommended and we were not disappointed...Mom found fabulous pieces that when displayed will remind her of this region and of the owner of the B&B who collects similar antiques. She mentioned the Corning glass museum and creating your own glass art which we did on our last day...another fabulous suggestion.

We also chose this area to view the Fall foliage....we were not disappointed. We drove the wine trail and participated in a few tastings...one was free compliments of staying at the Lake and Vine BB. The colors were AMAZING! Great time to travel to this area!

Back to the B&B:

The breakfast table was always set picture perfect (The Southern Living equivalent for the North needs to photograph this home!) and the food was incredible. All homemade!! Carol is a class act! She treats her guests as if she has known them for years and bends over backwards to ensure you are happy while in her home. Gail, who helps Carol, is also very accommodating and sweet. I highly recommend this B&B!! You will not be disappointed...PROMISE!! The rooms are lovely and the beds divine. She has a perfect little game table upstairs with lots of game choices. Following dinner the three of us played a competitive game of scrabble and sipped on local Chardonnay.

Please do not use the awful review dated September 30 by Adam S to base your decision of where NOT to stay while in Hammondsport. If you do, you will miss out! The Lake and Vine B&B is a huge thumbs up. I will return! Thank you, Carol for your hospitality and graciousness! We should have taken a picture of you!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the room with the brass bed over the garden. Great bed and pretty decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

As stated on the Tripadvisor listing for Lake and Vine, this B&B earned 32 "excellent" ratings from previous guests which greatly piqued my interest. Whenever possible, we stay at Select Registry B&B's but decided to give this one a try for a recent fall getaway. We were not disappointed. The innkeeper was exceptional. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Her friendly manner made us feel at home and her knowledge of the area very helpful n planning our daily agenda. The guest rooms and common areas are beautiful and very well-appointed. Innkeeper Carol has a real eye for detail that comes across in all aspects of the Lake and Vine experience. The beds were absolutely the best! There was home-made brownies by the coffee maker and fresh blueberry topping on the morning waffles. After checkout, Carol was nice enough to track us down at a local vineyard when she noticed we left our shoes. We would definitely stay here again ... An hope we do!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've read every review on this location and can't fathom what people are talking about. I've never felt less welcome anywhere, especially a B&B, as I felt in this place. The issues started upon arrival where trying to pay the propietor was met with the head of group being admonished as "too nervous". Read on as I regale the story of feeling like an imposition throughout the (cold in more ways than one) stay.

I, with my wife, arrived shortly after the other couples in an adult wedding party. A group of mid 30's professionals plus parents should, in mind, be the easiest of guests at a B&B. We are not rowdy, are not loud, and are certainly respectful to the last. Upon entering we were admonished... and I'll use this word often here... to make sure our luggage does not touch the walls. And further admonished to by absolutely sure to wipe our feet as the carpets are made of wool.

We were directed to our room by our friends and after setting our stuff down on the bed were then walked through a 15 minute lesson on how to operate the blinds, where the closet is located (twice), to make sure we shut every last light off if we walk out of the room, how to properly dispose of feminine products (in great detail, loudly, and with other guests well within earshot), and the fact that we would be warm despite it being quite cold in the house.

This was our first introduction to the owner and it was off-putting to say the least. But wait because it gets even stranger.

The instructions on how to use the Keurig machine and operate the TV were unnecessary but that wasn't the problem. The problem was the way in which we were all told things by the owner. None of it was by any measure inviting or informative. It was all berating and, as stated, admonishing.

Breakfast was a whole other topic. We arrived at the table at the time we were told breakfast would be served. And then all shooed away because "you have to let us light the candles and get the water out!" and I punctuate it as stated. As we walked away from the table, not wanting to get in the way, we were then told to sit down. What? Not "you can sit down" but "sit down". Notice the difference there?

That was the first morning's experience. On the second morning the mother in the group arrived at the table again on time and was further berated with "We won't serve anything until 8:30." and thankfully replied calmly "It IS 8:30". I can't express the tone properly here but it was not what I would call jolly. And granted no one can be jolly all the time. But to sound pissed off specifically ALL THE TIME is a challenge I did't think many people could meet. Clearly I was wrong.

For being in the hospitality business, this place is NOT I repeat NOT hospitable. Not in any way.

I could go on an on with details but by the end of our first day there every member of our group were walking on eggshells over the owner and her constant demeanor of everyone being unwelcome. It put everyone on edge and made the stay really unpleasant. Having breakfast while the owner went upstairs to check the empty rooms which "she has to do before you can leave". Can leave? Again.. what??

Also our rooms were not made up after our first night.

The house is lovely. The owner needs to let someone else be the "face" of the business. It is not the best B&B in town and I would never recommend it to anyone unless they were interested in seeing how not to operate a business where you are supposed to make people welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms are in fact quite nice. But the physical rooms are not what make a good B&B... its th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol-malone, Manager at Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am truly sorry that your stay at Lake &Vine was not a pleasant experience. The guest experience is singularly my most important focus. My objective is to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and hopefully, a little pampered. Your comments are an important element to help improve the guest experience at Lake & Vine and we will endevor to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Pa.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were guests on September 16 and 17. Great experience! We always stay in B and B's and this one was simply our best experience. Carol was a gracious host and creates a delicious breakfast. If you are fortunate enough to stay here, you will find simple elegance,wonderful beds, an ultra clean and comfortable decor,relaxing porch, and beautifully maintained grounds. Carol is a bit of a perfectionist and welcomes you to enjoy her home as if it were your own. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, 2 have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I recently spent several nights at this inn and were overwhelmed by the decor, the cleanliness, and the hospitality of the inn. Carol does an outstanding job of welcoming guests into her inn within walking distance of Hammondsport and the beach of Keuka Lake. From the screened in porch to the flawless bedroom (Aurora Room), we rated this inn one of the top three of our 30 plus B&Bs over the past 27 years! Breakfasts were scrumptious and Carol was gracious with her recommendations of places to see and visit. We would highly recommend this inn for a romantic getaway!
Rick Choffel
Irving, TX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After living in NYCity for 10+ years, this was my first trip to the Finger Lakes region. I brought with me a handful of relatives from Ireland and Italy who had never been to "small town America" (anyplace other than NYC or Chicago). What a great first impression! L&V is a gorgeous little B&B, with just 4 rooms we ended up having the place to ourselves, including a private breakfast on the lovely enclosed porch overlooking Carol's beautiful garden. As a proprietor Carol couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions for dining, entertainment (there was a concert going on that night in the town square!), and driving directions to our next destination. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, everything was spotless, and nice little touches like homemade peanut butter cookies and tea available in the afternoon as we arrived, and plush bathrobes to use, along with a variety of places in the house to hang out. On a practical note, the B&B is less than a 5 minute walk into the picturesque town of Hammondsport. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Lake Street, Hammondsport, NY 14840
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hammondsport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hammondsport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake & Vine Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list