We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, iffy pricing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Block Italian Bistro

Union Block Italian Bistro
31 Shethar Street, Hammondsport, NY 14840
607-246-4065
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 restaurants in Hammondsport
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, iffy pricing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food and service here was great, but we didn't see the prices listed for the specials, and our party ordered two specials. When we got the bill, we discovered that the specials were double the cost of an average entree. Not a huge deal because the food was really good, but if this info was written somewhere, I didn't see it. I recommend asking for the prices when you are offered the specials.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    110
    45
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The title says at all. Service was great.....food was great......& we didn't have to take out a loan just for meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family dined here while on vacation. The food was excellent. We enjoyed the clams bianco, the Delmonico steak and the five cheese ravioli. We ordered a bottle of wine from the Finger Lakes region and finished off the meal with delicious desserts and expresso. The service was attentive and we would definitely dine there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale city taste in a quaint little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were blown away that we had to wait over 40 minutes for our table because from the outside it looks like a deli. It delivers great food in a very nice setting and it was well worth the wait. There was live music in the grotto/basement bar offering lots of local wines. The bartenders downstairs were amazing and even got my friend coffee from the restaurant upstairs. A really good experience and should I find myself in Hammondsport again, I will definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are from South Jersey, so treated the recommendation of friends with skepticism. This restaurant has great italian food and lived up to the recommendations.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Block Italian Bistro also viewed

Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Union Block Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Block Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.