We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine great, tasting poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars

Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars
9749 Middle Road, Hammondsport, NY
607-868-4884
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dr. Konstantin Frank pioneered the introduction of vinifera wines to the Finger Lakes region of New York. Our winery was found in 1962 and is one of the most award-winning and historic in New York.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Wine great, tasting poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First line up ten people, give each a glass, then pour 2 kinds of wine (one for wife, one for husband) talk very fast and get them the heck out before the next bunch walk in. That is not wine tasting, not sure what it is, but it is not "wine tasting". The wine however is worth tasting, worth spending time with and on, so buy a bottle or two and enjoy it leisurely by the lake or with dinner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your tasting! We really appreciate all your feedback because it helps us to continue to improve how we serve our customers. I’d like to assure you that your experience is not typical for our tastings and we are very sorry to hear that you had such a negative impression. The way we control visitor traffic is meant to ensure a more personal tasting experience, as well as enable our tasters to focus their time and efforts equally on each party of people, despite busy days. We apologize that this was not the experience that you had and that you felt rushed during your tasting. We are very glad to hear that despite your negative experience, you were able to enjoy some of our wines themselves, and we hope that you might come visit the winery again in the future for what will hopefully be a better tasting experience. Thank you again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    52
    13
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Last stop before heading home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was the last stop on our 2 days of touring this wine region, and I must say, the views from here were stunning. I did not personally do a tasting here (I was DD), but my gal pals did and enjoyed the wine. I walked around, took pictures, and enjoyed the view. Keuka Lake was really a beautiful area...would love to return here!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Came home with 2 cases!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We've been to a lot of wineries, and planned to visit many on our trip to Finger Lakes. Dr. Franks wine was so good we skipped the rest of the wineries and hiked instead. The setup with tasting was a bit odd but the woman who helped us was very knowledgeable, unpretentious, and friendly. We're looking forward to enjoying this wine with friends and family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a stunning view from the winery and the drive up. There was a waiting area to wait for a taster to assist you, but we didn't wait more than five minutes.The wine taster was friendly and well versed in the wines they offered. This isn't the largest shop or tasting area, but there is a tasting area outside as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not your typical Finger Lakes wine tasting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we did our second Finger Lakes wine trail visit. Dr Konstantin Franks winery is rather well known and popular which be why they were also rather pretentious. When we arrived at the tasting room we were greeted by a red velvet rope keeping us out (not kidding!). A sign informed us we needed to wait because we were about to have a unique tasting experience with our own personal host or hostess. Malarkey! When we got in it was just like every other tasting with our server running back and forth between other guests and us. Yes it was busy but no other winery roped you out if they were busy. You would just wait and look around until a spot opened up. They did not charge for the tasting which was nice as they were the only winery that didn't. However you did not get to choose the wines you tasted. The server chose for you based on what they "thought you liked." The only question she asked was "do you like dry or sweet" so I'm not sure how she was supposed to figure that out. I did notice that our server only chose the higher priced wines for our tasting. She served us several whites (had she asked she would have known we were not interested in white) and a few reds. The tasting ended rather abruptly with a "thank you for coming." At no point were we offered any of their lower priced wines or asked if there was anything else we'd like to try. They do have some good wine though it is a bit overpriced for the area but we did purchase several bottles. At checkout, we had a coupon for a free glass. But unlike every other winery, they only gave us one glass not two. What two people are supposed to do with one glass I'm not sure. So while I have enjoyed their wine my visit left an unpleasant after taste. In the future I will seek out wines from some of the other wonderful Finger Lake wineries where a visit is a pleasant experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin F, Public Relations Manager at Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your tasting, we appreciate and welcome the feedback, which allows us to continue to improve our services. We are very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We have long executed our tastings differently than many of the other wineries specifically to give customers a more personal experience with the taster, and to allow the taster to aid customers in finding the perfect bottles of wine for them individually. Most often, our reviews reflect this, as well as the ability of our tasters to focus their time and efforts equally on each party, despite busy days. That is why it is so surprising and unsettling to us that you felt you did not get enough time with your taster, and that you felt you were not able to try the wines you wanted to. Our tasters will not pour a specific wine if they are made aware that the customer does not want to try it, so we apologize that you felt you were unable to express to your taster that you did not want to try whites. Additionally, tasters usually pour a mixture of our Dr. Frank wines and wines from our value line, Salmon Run. Tasters often must use their discretion in choosing the wines, and perhaps if you strongly responded positively to a Dr. Frank wine, this is why he/she continued with some of our more expensive wines. However, it is very unusual that you were not asked if there was anything else you wanted to try, and we are very sorry for that. As for the wine glass coupon, although ours must be for only a glass, we were unaware that other winery coupons for a glass actually mean two glasses, and we are sorry that it seems some confusion was caused.

We hope that despite your negative experience, you were able to enjoy some of the wines themselves, and we hope even more than you might come visit the winery again in the future for a better tasting experience. Thank you again for visiting us, and for sharing! We wish you all the best in your future wine endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars also viewed

Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dr. Konstantin Frank's Vinifera Wine Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.