We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenn H. Curtiss Museum

Glenn H. Curtiss Museum
8419 State Route 54, Hammondsport, NY 14840
+1 607-569-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Glenn H. Curtiss Museum, bearing the name of Hammondsport's favorite son, is located on Route 54, one half mile south of the village of Hammondsport, New York. Dedicated to the memory of pioneer aviator, Glenn Curtiss, the museum contains a priceless collection relating to early aviation and local history. The museum also features a 75-seat theater, large open area for special events and a gift shop. In addition to motorcycles and aircraft, visitors will also see antique tools, toys, boats, home-furnishings, fire equipment and much more. Visitors are also welcome to visit the Museum Restoration Shop, talk with volunteer craftsman and watch them work on historic aircraft.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Informative, wonderful. Looking forward to coming back to see the new exhibits and review the older ones! The curator is very interesting and helpful. Superb museum; learned so much!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    35
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A nice surprise. Quite an extensive museum on Curtis's role in aviation along. Very interesting. It takes a 1 - 2 hours to see it thoroughly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great museum and I wouldn't miss it while in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recently had our Spring Meet of our antique car club in Corning, New York and as part of our tour we headed on Saturday April 20, 2013 to the Glenn H. Curtiss Museum in Hammondsport, New York. A short trip from Corning if your in the area and even if your not I suggest you make it a point to head to the Museum. Out of the way, just off the highway I expected it to have a couple of motorcycles and airplanes honoring the attributes of Glenn H. Curtiss an early aircraft and motorcycle pioneer. Boy was I surprised. The museum not only covers that history but has many many more interesting items including old weapons, antique cars, antique doll houses and much much more. Of course early aircraft is a main focus since Glenn Curtiss was from the Hammondsport area and made his first flights there, but I learned many things I did not know about him.
The visit acomidated our 21 car club members and many of them relayed to me how great it was and how much they enjoyed it. Admission is reasonable and there is a child learning area also. Group rates can be obtained for a number of people. I highly recommend it to anyone in the area. Even if your not into airplanes, I bet you'll find something of interest there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a few hours of your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was hesitant to "waste" time here but it was worth it. Lots of cool old things to look at. We stayed about two hours but you could virtually here here for a while if you wanted to analyze everything. Big collection of old planes, motorcycles, etc. For $8 it was worth stoppping!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have lived in the general area since 1995, but had never visited this place until this year! What a surprising find. If you are interested in aviation, motorcycles, old boats, toys, etc. This is the place to go!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenn H. Curtiss Museum also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Glenn H. Curtiss Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenn H. Curtiss Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.