We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colgate Inn

Colgate Inn
1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346
315-824-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Colgate Inn offers fine American cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. No matter what you are in the mood for, the Colgate Inn has the atmosphere and fare to suit.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Best Place in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Can''t imagine that there is anyplace better to eat in town or nearby. Lovely setting with generous portions of delicious comfort food. We particularly liked the menu which is perfect for a college town. The offerings had everything from buffalo wings to lobster which were all priced right. Had an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    29
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NM USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great college town Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The restored Inn is a nice centerpiece to the revitalized center of Hamilton NY. It has been many years since we visited, and the entire area looks quite a bit better than we remembered. Moving the Colgate bookstore "downtown" was a big help. The Hamilton Farmers Market was very busy in the village green on the last weekend in October - a fun experience.
We had a lovely dinner in the Madison Room at the Inn; the sea bass was among the best I have ever had. We also had coffees on the patio the following day as we watched the activity at the Farmers market. Service was great. The atmosphere of a traditional college Inn was well captured in the renovation. The food deserves 5 stars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“WOW - beautifully remodeled and great food to enjoy too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It had been some years since I had visited the Colgate Inn. When I was a kid, we use to attend a Sunday brunch in their 'old' dining room section on special occassions (Mother's Day etc.) and then a few years back had lunch in their bar/pub section and that was pretty good as well but I returned over the summer for a lunch and was really surprised!! They have done such a beautiful job refurnishing the downstairs. The restaurant is beautiful. It has a colonial atmosphere with lovely wood floors and a beautiful wood bar. It really has a warm welcoming atmosphere. Food is good too. I had a very nice quiche - nice size portion - with a side salad. Great wait staff. Attentive. The outside of the inn looks the same as ever - which was always beautiful but the inside - what a change. Open and airy and larger than I ever remember it being. Try the Colgate Inn if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“ANY REVIEW LESS THAN 5 STARS IS JUST PLAIN WRONG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

In all the years we've eaten here - 4 years and counting - the service has never ever been less than stellar (for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner) and the food never less than fabulous! So talk of rude and/or inattentive service or inconsistent food are just plain wrong in this (highly opinionated) reviewers view. The food - whether breakfast lunch and/or especially dinner - is artfully prepared, reasonably priced, friendly and professionally served, and just fantastic. If all those accolades aren't enough to entice you to go, then nothing will. But you'd be wrong! Very wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cocktail party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friends hosted a cocktail party there. Food very good and friendly servers. Also had lunch there. It's very quaint.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colgate Inn also viewed

 

Been to Colgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.