We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANY REVIEW LESS THAN 5 STARS IS JUST PLAIN WRONG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colgate Inn

Colgate Inn
1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346
315-824-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Colgate Inn offers fine American cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. No matter what you are in the mood for, the Colgate Inn has the atmosphere and fare to suit.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
327 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“ANY REVIEW LESS THAN 5 STARS IS JUST PLAIN WRONG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

In all the years we've eaten here - 4 years and counting - the service has never ever been less than stellar (for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner) and the food never less than fabulous! So talk of rude and/or inattentive service or inconsistent food are just plain wrong in this (highly opinionated) reviewers view. The food - whether breakfast lunch and/or especially dinner - is artfully prepared, reasonably priced, friendly and professionally served, and just fantastic. If all those accolades aren't enough to entice you to go, then nothing will. But you'd be wrong! Very wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cocktail party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friends hosted a cocktail party there. Food very good and friendly servers. Also had lunch there. It's very quaint.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A charming Inn in a lovely village.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Colgate Inn is the place to take someone for a special occasion. Their brunch is wonderful, many items from which to choose and each and every one is done to perfection. Take the ride to Hamilton and the Colgate Inn. You won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ate at the Colgate Inn for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was delcious and excellent value. service was second to none. We were even served coffee after dinner in the lobby. It was that extra littel touch that made our stay perfect.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD...GOOD SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I recently had dinner at the Colgate Inn in Hamilton, N.Y. We have eaten there many times and enjoyed it. This time was no different. The setting was casual, the service was excellent. The food was very good and the price was right.

I had a Prime Rib Panini: Slow roasted prime rib, roasted red pepper mayonnaise, Swiss cheese, caramelized onion and sautéed mushrooms on grilled Italian bread. The meat was tender and tasty. For a side dish I enjoyed Sweet Potato Fries. You will love them.

My wife had the House Salad: mixed greens, iceberg, pickled red onion, seasonal mixed berries with a strawberry vinaigrette. She selected to have it topped with grilled Atlantic Salmon. It was an excellent choice.

If you are in the area, this is a great place for good food and service.

Dave and Edie

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colgate Inn also viewed

 

Been to Colgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.