We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAR EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colgate Inn

Colgate Inn
1 Payne St, Hamilton, NY 13346
315-824-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Colgate Inn offers fine American cuisine in a relaxing atmosphere. No matter what you are in the mood for, the Colgate Inn has the atmosphere and fare to suit.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“FAR EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

But then, I didn't know what to expect (nor would I generally consider any hotel or inn restaurant all that special to begin with. THE COLGATE INN - BOTH THE INN AND THE RESTAURANT - IS SPECIAL (and I said as much in my Trip Advisor review of the inn) to begin with. On one of the most hectic and frantic weekends of the year - Family Weekend at Colgate University - the inn, and restaurant were, as you can imagine, packed. Still, my family and friends enjoyed the most delicious meal (even this slightly jaded New Yorker was pleasantly surprised) and the service could not have been any better or more friendly. Remarkable really when you consider the weekend. Even if I wasn't staying at the beautifully appointed and recently renovated inn - and why you wouldn't is a mystery to me (ah, yes, it has a limited number of rooms and an unlimited number of requests...that's why) - I wouldn't hesistate to eat at the inn. 5 Stars without a doubt!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love the renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

The renovation really classes the place up. I was there recently for lunch. We got a table by the fireplace which was very nice. The meal was very good. Service was efficient and very pleasant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Where we eat if we aren't eating at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The newly remodeled Colgate Inn is a great place to spend some time. We are lucky enough to have the Inn a mile awy from our home that we visit often.
The tavern menu has a good range of Items from snacks and sandwichs to full dinners
The selection of beers and ales on tap is always interesting.
This particular night I went with the Pumpkin soup and my lod sandby a Rueben
The soup was was with hints of spice a quite hearty. It did need a bit of salt.
The corned beef on the Rueben was tender and stacked high. The Chips (fries) were well done and the Inn has malt vinegar

My wife had the Lobster Mac & Cheese it was loaded with Lobster. Again a generous portion

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Charming, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The inn is charming, but the entire restaurant smelled bad -- maybe the fish special? Don't let them send you to the dungeon ---- I mean, tavern. The service was friendly, but slow. The food was not that good. if we'd had seats outside with the live music, I might have been able to overlook the problems, but the smell plus slow service plus so-so food means I won't be excited about returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at Colgate Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

While we enjoy going to the Colgate Inn and think the renovation looks great there always seems to be a problem with the service. It's not bad...just off. Drink orders should arrive promptly and PLEASE don't ask to take our dinner order before the drinks have arrived. Basically just pick up the pace a bit. Oh and to the 2 hostesses: You're not chained to your station. Feel free to move around the dining room and assist where needed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colgate Inn also viewed

 

Been to Colgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.