We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much room for improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wendt University Inn

Wendt University Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wendt University Inn
175 Utica Street, Hamilton, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hamilton
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much room for improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is not an inn. It's a motel that only does business because there are so few choices in Hamilton, NY. If it was in any larger place, it would have closed by now. It can't even come close to very good hotels in Utica which is 45 minutes away. It is tired in every way--tired beds, tired TV, tired linens etc.
But, apparently, they have no incentive to improve. We try to stay elsewhere whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
7
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I traveled to Colgate University with family and friends to attend a school sponsored function. I found it convenient to stay at the Wendt Inn. We needed 5 rooms and there were no other available places in the area since it was Valentine’s Day weekend. Upon check-in the clerk was very cordial; however the night clerk was very rude! The function we attended was over after 10pm and the town pretty much closes by 10pm with the exception of bars. We were able to locate a take-out place and brought food back to the hotel to eat. We brought the food in the dining area and the clerk went ballistic. She was very offensive and told us to make sure we cleaned up everything and place all the chairs back when we finished. This was always our intention, however we were shocked at her hostile tone and behavior. We cleaned the dining area leaving it in better condition than we found it. The hotel was extremely noisy. We were able to hear the conversation of the guests on both sides of us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Beware when trying to book this hotel on a busy college weekend or during the Bouckville Antiques week. The owner likes to pool possible guests and then finagle the reservations until he has a full hotel for the week. So, instead of you calling for a reservation and the hotel booking a room for you if they have a vacancy, they find out how long you would like to stay and then deny you a room of you don't want to stay the entire week. Of course you only know this if they bother to get back to you at all. The owner knows the area is lacking adequate accommodations for busy periods and takes every advantage of it. Of course the fact that he is a rude jerk on top of it makes the experience all the more unpleasant. If you do manage to get a room, be ready for paper thin walls and floors. This place was built like a large house, not a public building.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I was told a reservation for Jan. 2011 could not be made until Jan. 2011 as that was the way their system worked. I called in Sept. and Nov. 2010 and was told this. In Dec. I called as rooms are scarce in this small college town and was told they were completely booked! I asked how this was possible the hotel clerk(?) said they would not take reservations earlier as they were waiting to see if they could get a group. The "group" took all the rooms. This seems very unfair to someone who would take them at their word and hope to get a room in Jan. for Jan. This small college town has 2 hotels within 30 miles and this is deceitful to the public.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Hanover
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We felt the rooms were big and comfortable. The entrance was warm and comforting as well as the staff. Enjoyed the Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Wendt University Inn was perfectly OK for a visit to Colgate. We had a spacious room with two queen beds on the ground floor. The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little on the sparse side but there is a McDonalds and a local restaurant within walking distance. If my son attends Colgate I would have no problem staying here again. I really thought the stay was very reasonable (less than 125 a night inc taxes) in a town with only two hotels and a "captive audience" of college parents.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

It is reasonably priced in an area where you have few lodging options. The room was actually very large. It's close to (but not walking distance) a large grocery store, pharmacy and a good local pizza restaurant (Pizza Pub).

The hotel is not much to look at. It's a two story rectangle building with what appears to be vinyl siding. Inside is a never ending green motif that gets old FAST (I'm talking carpet, countertops in the breakfast room, accents, etc).

I was disappointed by the old fashioned TV, which was difficult to see from the beds as the room is so big, and by the cultured marble (i.e. plastic man made faux marble) counter tops in the bathroom, fiberglass shower and plastic flooring in the bathroom.

The breakfast was typical and acceptable, juice, coffee, bagels & pastry, but the mood was ruined by 1) the cheap formica countertops and 2) the boss on the phone behind the check in counter arguing with someone every day (we were there for 3 nights). Each time he was on the phone from when I came down for breakfast until I went back upstairs.

Also, there wasn't much immediately around the hotel, it was basically just a place to sleep and have breakfast, no pool, no entertainment.

Internet was free, but it wasn't wireless, no problem, they let us borrow an ethernet wire.

We didn't have any specific bad experience, the staff was friendly with us, the room was big enough, clean and pretty new. It does the trick, but it is by no means a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wendt University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wendt University Inn

Address: 175 Utica Street, Hamilton, NY
Location: United States > New York > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Wendt University Hotel Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wendt University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wendt University Inn to your Saves list