We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, ok atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Nature Brewing

Good Nature Brewing
8 Broad Street, Hamilton, NY 13346
315 824-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Hamilton, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great beer, ok atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great beer, reasonably priced. Occasional live music and other events. No food but they let you bring food in and even have local menus on the wall. Atmosphere is decent but could be nicer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little place to taste new local brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice addition to Hamilton, pleasant and very welcoming hosts who took time to talk to you and answer all your questions.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great addition to Hamilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our second and last Colgate student graduates in May so we will have limited opportunity to enjoy this new and wonderful addition to Hamilton. We stopped in for the first time during the recent Family Weekend. I'm a big Guinness fan and don't like most other beers since they're too carbonated. But GNB has a great variety of their own crafted beers that I had no problem drinking. The idea of having a flight allows you to try and enjoy several brews in one sitting. The staff was great in helping us pick our flight components. We'll be back in the spring and will definitely stop again at GNB.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Craft Brewing Comes to Madison County NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hidden away in the rolling hills of upstate New York, Madison County is a place that seems to have missed the 20th century. It was once one of the great hops growing regions of the world, and so, amid the dairy farms, bee hives, Amish with buggies, picturesque Greek Revival towns and small colleges and universities, a new brewery has appeared.

The brewery itself, is located next to the abandoned railway station in Hamilton. NY. The new tasting room for Good Nature Brewery is now in the center of town, facing Hamilton Green at 8 Broad Street. Open Tuesday – Saturday (hours are variable). Recently, at Tap New York, the state’s largest annual beer festival, Good Nature came home with the John Calen Award for best Beer in a traditional English style — their India Pale Ale. That is my default brew when I visit Good Nature Brewing.

The bar is good for beer conversation and often the owners, Carrie Blackmore and Matt Whalen are behind (or in front of) the bar to give their expertise and insight; however, anyone who works there is steeped in the brews. Food is minimal (chips) but free, and you can bring in your own meal. There is often live music.

Good Nature Brewing is also a part of New York’s Farm Breweries and their beers are handcrafted with ingredients grown locally. And that hop industry, destroyed by Prohibition in the 1910s, appears to be coming back in Madison County.

So if you are in Hamilton and like beer, it is a MUST. If you are nearby it is worth a detour.

http://www.goodnaturebrewing.com/home/ (315) 824-BEER (2337)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Nature Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Good Nature Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Nature Brewing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.