We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo Bills rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5370 Camp Road, Hamburg, NY 14075   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hamburg
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buffalo Bills rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

On a road trip, my husband and I arrived in this area fairly late one night in a bad rainstorm. To our dismay several hotels that we tried to get into were booked. This hotel had a couple of rooms left so we grabbed what we could. The rate for our room was $125.00. This seemed a bit high for a roadside motel. We inquired as to why the rate was so high and we were advised that it was game weekend therefore we were being stabbed to death even though we were not fans. We accepted this fact and knew that we may also have some noise issues but we needed somewhere other than our car to sleep. Once in the room, we were stunned. We looked online and noticed that their regular rates were as low as $65.00 a night. This explains everything. For what we got even this lower rate was barely acceptable. Because of our timing we paid more than double for a disgusting room ( I killed two spiders in the bathroom and wiped up the large web in the corner, the a/c was broken with grill removed so you could look at all the mold and disgust inside the unit, room is so small you have to sit on bed while watching t.v.) and paid more money to stay up all night due to the partying fans. We had to call the front desk twice.... instead of security they sent the front desk agent to quiet down the rioters. This was real affective...NOT! They would laugh at her once she walked away. That was easy to hear when right outside your door. This wasn't just a few fans doing some pre game celebrating. There was yelling outside our room, beer bottles breaking in the parking lot, toilet paper all over our car in the morning, cigarrette butts and chewing tobacco all over the walkway. At least three or four rooms in our vicinity were full of young, out of control, partiers. This went on until 3:00AM. Please don't charge guests extra when you know the conditions that will exist over a weekend of this nature. The front desk agent replied when we complained about the noise the next morning "oh, you think last night was bad, just wait until tonight after the game" So they obviously know of the extreme noise problems. I would not have accepted these conditions even if I hadn't been ripped off and had paid the lower rate. Please also consider security on these weekends to keep fans under control so that unsuspecting guests can get their moneys worth on their room. Or keep a block of rooms separate for non fans. Please clean your rooms. I will never be in this area again. If I am, I will absolutely sleep in my car next time.

Room Tip: Don't choose any of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear TammyHoy:

Thank you for taking the time to complete an on-line review of our property. I sincerely appreciate your constructive comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the overall experience, as clearly we failed to meet your expectations relative to the price / value relationship.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team, especially the Housekeeping staff to review our standards relative to room cleanliness. Also, please note that we have replaced the heating unit within the guestroom so as to avoid future issues relative to this topic. In response to your comments regarding room rates, please note that the Hamburg, NY market, not unlike any other market, is subject to special events which can have a positive and negative impact on this topic. While we try to maintain our goal as the area's leader in terms of price / value, clearly we fell short based on the issues noted within your review. Again, we appreciate feedback from our guests, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
65
36
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have had another good experience at Hamburg n.y. red roof inn . Becky the manager was very hospitable and did everything in her power to make my stay a great one . Jeannie our made took much pride in caring for our room. I think the red roof inn is very lucky to have such devoted employees in fact the whole staff showed us a friendly atmosphere with lots of smiles .also the price was very reasonable and a great value . I would recomend the Hamburg red roof inn to all my friends and family . Five stars.

Room Tip: I prefer the king room it has a micro and a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear ironed65:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service and the price / value perception, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Ms. Beckie and Ms. Jeanne and the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This Red Roof Inn is such a great hotel at a fraction of the cost. Great staff, rooms and bed. The hotel has been completely refurbished and quite nicely. Our room was very clean and comfortable with great lighting. Unfortunately, the bathroom was small and not as clean as we would like. However, they were very accommodating. We would definitely stay again. Overall, we were more than pleased!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear fitz49525:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service and overall condition of our refurbished guestrooms, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. In regards to your comment regarding the cleanliness of the bathroom, please accept my sincerest apologies for our shortcomings. I will be sure to pass along your positive and constructive comments to the rest of the Team so that we can continue to improve our operation! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold 'n Snowy Northern NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Recent 3-night road trip, 2 nights here and a night at another hotel in downtown Buffalo. The other hotel had a 4.5 star rating BUT - gotta tell ya - we had a superior overall stay here at a fraction of the price. Squeaky-clean room (ESPECIALLY the bathroom !!!), nice big wide-screen TV, fridge and microwave, the room even smelled especially nice. And unlike the other place, no mildew anywhere.

Equally impressive was the down-home-friendly greeting we received on check-in - there's just something especially nice about we-really-appreciate-your-business friendliness - and even nicer, this attitude was repeated by every staff member we met during our stay, right down to the maintenance guy and the housekeeping staff. They even went out of their way to let me plug in my Chevy Volt, a request that was met with laughter at the 4.5 star facility. And there is an INCREDIBLE steak house next door with equally fun 'n friendly staff and the best road meal we've had in a while, the quality and proximity more than makes up for the absence of an in-house restaurant/bar.

If you want full-amenity digs this isn't your place but for a clean, comfy basic stay it doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear BobAndKarenNY:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service, proximity to area attractions and restaurants and the overall condition of our Inn, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

From a very pleasant desk clerk to a nice comfortable room at a very reasonable price, we were very pleased. We appreciated the little things as well - hooks on the back of the bathroom door, reading lights over the bed. Doesn't sound like a lot but we notice these things when they aren't there. No breakfast offered but that was ok for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Betswa:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service, the layout of our guestrooms at a reasonable price, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was only our 2nd time staying at a RR Inn. We stayed prior to a Buffalo Bills home game, due mostly to the close proximity to the stadium. Excellent highway location, very quiet on side which does not face the I-90. We had 3 rooms booked and in fact there was some confusion at check in with one of our reservations however the staff on duty got everything cleared up with no problem. Staff were very welcoming, even asked us if we needed suggestions on where to dine. In morning the staff member (Becky) was pleasant to guests coming in to get coffee, which is nice to see.

Be aware that this location is filled up with a lot of football fans prior to Bills home games. Fans tend to party the night before so it's a bit noisy outside. I can say however that by 11pm it was mostlly quiet. I'm not sure if staff spoke to some of the partiers or if they just calmed down on there own. All in all, it's a lot of fun to be amongst football fans. They were all good natured and so were we.

Room Tip: A quiet property but if you can, try to get a room not facing the I-90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear bflojim:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service and proximity to area attractions including Ralph Wilson Stadium, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Ms. Beckie the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was in the area for an art show over the weekend and stayed there Friday night. I had a king room with a refrigerator and microwave and flat screen tv. The room was very clean and frankly very comfortable. Yes, it is along a major highway but my room was away from the highway and facing the woods and once I closed the door it was very quiet. In fact, I did not hear other people staying there even though the parking lot looked full. I would recommend it to anyone passing through. It was not the Ritz but it was adequate and comfortable and clean. Also the staff in the office was very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods are quieter away from the major highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Catnip2:

Thank you for taking time from your schedule to review our property. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel staff's level of service, proximity to area attractions and overall condition of the Inn, which we believe are critical distinguishing features that set our property apart from the competition and generate loyalty to the Red Roof Inn brand. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments to the rest of the Team! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg

Address: 5370 Camp Road, Hamburg, NY 14075
Location: United States > New York > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Hamburg
Red Roof Inn Hamburg
Hamburg Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.