We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not the usual.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 Commerce Place, Hamburg, NY 14075-3638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hamburg
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location but not the usual.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Read some great reviews before we reserved a room. However was quite disappointed with what we saw.
a. Elevator was down. Desk did not know when it would be back in operation.
b. Stairs were at two ends of a long building, there was a caddy but not when you needed it.
c. Stairs look neglected and the cornflakes on the carpet just lay there getting crunched in the carpet,
d. Room did not have the usual microwave or fridge.
e. There is a table in the room but no chair, how does one work at the table. a small heavy armchair is at the other end.
f. they put a complimentary newspaper and a good breakfast.
g, The rates are much more expensive than other similar properties for the same hotels.
h. Parking is not well marked or lit so you end parking only in the front of the hotel.
i. Lighting is the room is weird. The switch for the pedestal lamp is near the door. The coffee maker is in the bathroom.
g. Carpets look dirty but that could be due to the dark color.

All in all not a property I would choose if I return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    27
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked a non smoking room and was given a room that was "non smoking" but had a strong smoking smell in it. I am 100% positive that this was a previous smoking room that was recently turned into a non smoking room but never got properly cleaned or renovated. I asked the desk clerk if the room was a non smoking room and was told that it was - except it didn't have the non smoking sign on the door like the ones across the hall. Overall, the stay was very disappointing and I would not go back to this property in the future.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms have always been non smoking or just been declared non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

getting an elevator sh/make some complainers about this hotel feel better.definitely an improvement. but....the stairways are pretty neglected and lack of vaccumming shows as do the dirty brass door handles. tsk, tsk.
2nd floor end of hallway reeked of cigarette smoke although the desk clerk said no smoking was allowed.
i have stayed here several times..it's ok, but next time thru i might try the holiday inn xpress which is getting good reviews

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is undergoing some needed renovations, but there is no excuse fir the filthy carpets, and dirty public areas. Our room was cleaner than other areas, but still had carpet stains and a large area of black mold on the shower curtain. The bed was amazingly comfortable except for a very noisy bathroom fan, the room was quiet. The elevator was being replaced and we had to carry our luggage upstairs. We were not informed of this when making our reservation. The breakfast buffet was just plain bad. The bagels were stale, the eggs were hard and dried out, and the fruit was past its prime. When we mentioned the hard eggs to the staff the response was that they get like that when they are out for a while-hmmm made us wonder just how long they had been in that warmer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed there over a weekend. The hotel is right off the highway and near many restaurants, stores and gas stations; very convenient. The lobby is somewhat tired and the smell of smoke from the smoking half of the building is noticeable. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean but, again, fairly worn. The refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker were functional and handy. Parking is convenient and the hotel was quiet. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows of different types.

There were a few issues and, although none were major, they did add up to be pretty annoying. The safe did not function. The main bathroom light was not working but it did get repaired quickly. The air conditioning fan cycles on and off constantly so the room never go very cool. The exercise room was pathetic: three treadmills. That's it. And two didn't work. One unit would not operate and another would vary speed on its own before stopping suddenly. That's not fun when you're running! Breakfast was fair and adequate although the eating area is too small.

The worst hotel offense was a security issue: Our room keys stopped working and when I went to the front desk, the staff member merely asked me for my room number. She then said to me, "Mr. Smith?", to which I replied, "yes". She then proceeded to re-program my keys! I could have been someone that found a key on the ground. I was never asked for ID or to confirm the name on the registry. A shocking breach of training.

With the Holiday Inn Express next door, head there.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall: you can park almost at your doorstep and it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed there with family recently after a last minute decision to go on a roadtrip over the long weekend. The reviews are mostly true about this property - "Nice, could use some upgrades". The hotel was a bit dated, and it was in a quiet nook in Hamburg. However, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious with a flat screen TV, the pool was heated and was conveniently located right across the hall with a small fitness centre. As this was a last minute booking, the smoking rooms were all that were left. This was probably a good thing as we stayed on the ground floor and there were no working elevators.

The meat cakes and scrambled eggs were great adds to a typical continental breakfast! Not a bad place to stay. Would recommend this hotel for a quick night out of town. Would stay here again after the renovations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I reserved my room at the Hamburg Comfort Inn & Suites several weeks in advance, but I had the misfortune of arriving in the evening on a night when the hotel was full, and I was told the only room they had kept available was on the second floor. No problem, I thought, and asked where the elevator was. Stupid me. The desk clerk gave me a look as if to say “This ain’t the Four Seasons, old man” and pointed me toward the stairway. I told the clerk that as a senior citizen with bad knees, I have lots of trouble climbing stairs, let alone dragging a heavy suitcase up to the second floor (there were 16 stairs) and back down again in the morning. The clerk replied with a silent shrug -- there was no help to be had with either the room location or the luggage. In the end, I did manage to get my baggage up and down (with considerable difficulty and some risk of further injury), but it certainly soured me on this indifferent, overpriced establishment.

Since the hotel had no elevator, why am I not surprised that management didn’t bother to put an ice machine on the second floor (and no fridge in the room to make my own ice)? So I limped down and up the stairway again to fill my ice container from a dispenser on the ground floor. I suppose I should be grateful that the ice wasn’t kept in a bin in a sub-sub-basement accessible only with a rope ladder, which also wouldn’t have surprised me. Other things to dislike about this hotel: too-small breakfast area, too-thin walls (I could hear every word spoken by the bickering couple in the next room late at night and quite clearly), some missing amenities in the bathroom, and a burnt-out bulb in the reading lamp I wanted to use, suggesting weak supervision of housekeeping and maintenance personnel.

On the positive side, I will concede that there were a few OK things that cause me to grudgingly give this unhappy hostelry a reluctant second star: The room was large and featured a good flat-screen TV, strong reception from the free wi-fi signal (accessible with a code from reception), a four-drawer dresser, adjustable heat and cooling, and instant hot water in the bathroom. Free Wall Street Journals were available in the lobby, which seems to be a happy feature of most Choice Hotels I’ve stayed at.

Still, everything is overshadowed by the difficulties of getting my luggage up to the room without an elevator or anyone to help. This won’t be a problem if you’re young and healthy. And perhaps for old codgers like me, there’s even a way to reserve a ground floor room in advance by telephone, which doesn’t seem be possible on the Web site. But I seriously doubt that I’ll be trying it again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, call ahead a try to reserve a ground floor room. If that doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 3615 Commerce Place, Hamburg, NY 14075-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Hamburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-90 just a short drive to downtown Buffalo, Buffalo Bills Stadium and the Hamburg Fair Grounds. Newly renovated in late 2007 to enhance your stay. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, exercise room and business center. Take advantage of our new Fridges and microwaves in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Hamburg
Comfort Inn Hamburg
Hamburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.