We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trout House Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Save
You added Trout House Village Resort to your Saves list
9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great family resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Can't say enough good things about the family run resort on the shires of Lake a George. We opted to stay an the "island View " house for a week with our children, their spouses and our three grand daughters. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home. Since the house is located on a hill above the resort, the owner Scott actually led us directly to the front door.

The house was impeccable! Everything was "just as advertised". The crib and high chair were there as requested etc.

The beach was clean and kid friendly. There were kayaks, paddle boats, paddle boards, row boats, a sun fish all available and at no extra charge! When was the last time anyone experienced that ? Kudos to Scott, Alice and the staff for providing a great experience fir our family.

Room Tip: Can't speak about rooms since we stated in a house. The Island House's location provides co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband Bob and I went to Fort Ticonderoga as we are both history buffs. We stayed at the Trout House Village Resort. Our room was in the main house and we had a private bath. The view from the Trout House is exquisite. We had a blast paddle boating to a little island 1/2 mile off shore, kayaking, playing shuffle board etc. The only issue for me was the lack of coffee/refreshments. The closest restaurant was a 15 minute drive.

Besides the Fort and the resort amenities, we went to Schroon Lake to look for the summer camp I had stayed as child (long gone).Generally, all the people we met were friendly. I look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

On a business trip, associates and I decided to stay at the trout house in the Island View Lodge. It was an extravagent alternative to a hotel room. I could not have asked for better amenities than was provided. At nearly half the price of the nearby Best Western. I was later forced to stay at the Best Western for $150 a night when scheduling conflicts arose. I would recommend any traveler to stay at the trout house over any of the local hotel(s).

Room Tip: Get the island view lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came across Tout House while boating in northern Lake George. I saw it from the lake and it looked so nice I was determined to find it for our next visit. Upon looking at the website, we fell in love with the cabins and the fact we could have our teacup yorkie stay too! We booked the Iroquois log cabin for a family vacation in June and December, 2013 and have now found our home away from home! The Iroquois has a beautiful layout, a full kitchen,a stone fireplace, a great porch overlooking the lake and 2 Jacuzzi tubs in the 2 full bathrooms! In the winter, the floors are heated and there is wood already cut to keep the fireplace burning although the heat is plenty!
The private beach provides kayaks, rowboats and lounge chairs. Included are bikes, snowshoes, ping-pong and basketball and more! Everything is just perfect for any excuse to getaway! We hope to return again this year for more R&R. Just book it!

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need and like, they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a nice time at the trout house . The cabin is "cozy" there is a small living room with a gas fireplace and a nice small room in the front with a hot tub that is big enough for one person. The small deck/ porch in the front of the cabin has a lake view ( from across 9n) and a deceptively comfortable rocking chair. The kitchen is a nice size with fairly new appliances and opens up into a small covered deck in back with an outdoor refrigerator and a portable BBQ. There are three small bedrooms upstairs with a nice size bathroom. All in all the cabin was clean and comfortable . I have been going to Lake George my whole life and am familiar with the local " dialect" and am not expecting a concierge at the front desk ... that being said the ownership could have been more attentive to the very few questions we asked about the lake in the "off-season" and the maid did not clean the cabin one day because it interfered with her lunch. :) that said I would return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our trip to Lake George was made perfect thanks to the Trout House! My friends and I stayed in the Wind Tunnel and found the accommodations to be perfect - the one drawback was the very small shower, but we made due with it! The rooms are cozy, but spacious and A/C is available - very important during the warm summer months! The true selling point of the Trout House are the incredible amenities. You can take out kayaks, paddle boats, and rowboats anytime up until the sun goes down! You can explore some of the islands out on the lake as a result! The water is refreshing to swim in during the summer - the things you can do here are endless! We hope to come back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I wanted a mini escape from NYC, and neither of us had ever visited Lake George before. The cabin was adorable inside and out. It was clean and comfortable, and the fireplace was ready to go as soon as we arrived, which was perfect, as we visited during November. Sitting on the coffee table in a binder were tons of much appreciated suggestions for local restaurants & hiking trails, which was a really nice touch and helped us plan out our weekend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Location: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village
Trout House Village Resort Hague, NY - Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout House Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.